How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
grpetz
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:39 pm

How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by grpetz » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:26 am

Hello. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to specifically make win 7 optimized for ableton? I'm sure of the obvious like disabling firewalls and wifi....but what are some other things that I can disable that may help? My system is a laptop of 4gb of ram. I am using an external 2TB hard drive to store the temporary files, etc.,. but the VST instruments are pulling from the laptop hard drive. I want to optimize this laptop for the smoothest operation. I am also using a tascam us-1800 audio interface. Only a few times I have had problems with a constant static sound in the output and that only occurred after I loaded and deleted a couple of loops in a track. I am basically using this unit to record 2 mono vocal tracks, 1 stereo track and also about 4 other vst instrument tracks that are enabled during the live recordings, no problems doing just this, until I load some occasional loops and then the static and I have to restart the computer to solve the problem. Thank you for any helpful advice.

Blessings,
Gary

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by davepermen » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:20 am

disabling firewall has no effect. wifi shouldn't with a proper driver.

i have not done any optmisations on any of my systems (laptop, desktop), and it runs perfectly well.

only optimize if you need it.

the static sounds like a sound-driver issue.
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

grpetz
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by grpetz » Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:28 pm

Hi Dave. Thanks for the reply and the suggestion. I have downloaded the latest driver for the tascam us-1800. The reason I started using ableton was because of its ability to work without any static problems. I previously used cubase since it came with the us-1800, but I had a lot of problems with it producing occasional clicks and pops in the sound. I didn't experience that with ableton and I can even drop the latency to the lowest setting and it still is fine in ableton...my latency setting at the moment is set at normal. I will dig a little deeper and see if I can find something else. Thank you again for your reply.... Gary

channelite
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by channelite » Sat May 07, 2011 4:43 am

I used this link to tweak Windows 7, though, it's not specifically for audio. Try also seaching in the gearslutz forum.

http://www.computingunleashed.com/speed ... de-to.html

niksG
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:12 am

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by niksG » Sat May 07, 2011 6:03 am

Win 7/Vista BSOD - Win7 x64 BSOD after ableton crash posted in the Blue Screen Errors forums; hi everyone i'm unfortunately here again,with another bsod problem.the case is pretty simple,but unsolvable for me.so i'm working with my DAW (Ableton Live 8.1.4),and after certain operations Live crashes.that's pretty ...

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by davepermen » Sat May 07, 2011 6:51 am

BSOD are always driver problems (an app can't create a BSOD on it's own).

so update / reinstall your drivers.
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

twisted-space
Posts: 1250
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: UK Midlands

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by twisted-space » Sat May 07, 2011 11:21 am

niksG wrote:(Ableton Live 8.1.4),and after certain operations Live crashes.that's pretty ...
Is there a good reason for you not using 8.2.2?

drchoc
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: How To Optimize Win 7 For Ableton?

Post by drchoc » Sat May 07, 2011 12:03 pm

These optimization guides often mention turning off the indexing, but what about searching for samples & songs? Does this get impacted or is it only what you search for via windows explorer :?:

Post Reply