a very useful MIDI tip

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
pilz971
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: [y]UK

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by pilz971 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:54 pm

very cool stuff!

gonna try My hand with AUTOMAP and if it aint "THE" job, this is where I`m going!

Nice One For Sharing!

slobodavan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by slobodavan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:05 pm

I can't get this to work on Win 7 with my CME U-key.

What should I put in the port field?

Should I subtract one from the cc's as well as from the main channel number?

slobodavan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:50 pm

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by slobodavan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:36 pm

In the UserConfiguration.txt there are two fields named InputName and OutputName meant for the midi ports used by the control surface, they are what I refer to in my previous message. Where do I find the correct port name to use?

I'm wondering if the name of the folder I put the config in matters as well?

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by simmerdown » Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:33 pm

(giving this a shot today...looks great, think my nanoKontrol just became way more useful :twisted:)

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by simmerdown » Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:20 pm

for the PC (win7) users, lil update to the location etc. from page 1...

the User Config.txt is here:

(C)/programfiles(x86)/Ableton/Live #/resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/tools

nice guys that they are, there are 2 .txt files there; the user config, AND a' how-to instant map' yer controller...

InstantMappings HowTo
=====================

With the file 'UserConfiguration.txt'provided in
this directory, you can create your own Instant
Mappings.

Note: Since this mechanism relies on the scripts
added for Live 6, you can solely map the given
functions to your Control Surface. You can neither
add functions nor can you change the banks of
device parameters.


1. Create a directory in 'User Remote Scripts'.
The name of the directory will show up in the
list of Control Surfaces in Live.
Naming: The name of the directory should not
start with '_' or '.'.

2. Copy the the file 'UserConfiguration.txt' into
your directory. The name of the file needs to
remain unchanged.

3. Edit the copy to adapt it to your needs. The
comments in the file will tell you what to do.

krsfire
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:49 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by krsfire » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:14 pm

Tell me some1 managed to get this work with NI maschine. I cant try mine atm, but i hope it is possible!

mduncs
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:21 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by mduncs » Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:27 pm

i'm having trouble getting this to work with my keyboards. i've tried with a keyrig25 and an axiom49 and neither of them respond to the mapping.

on the keyrig i have checked the midi cc/channel by mapping them in ableton and writing down the numbers. i got midi ccs 84, 5, 71, 7, 74, 72, 93 and 91 all on channel 1.

in my userconfiguration.txt i set GlobalChannel: 0 (1 less than what the kayboard told me)

and set up the encoders as follows:

Encoder1: 84
Encoder2: 5
Encoder3: 71
Encoder4: 7
Encoder5: 74
Encoder6: 72
Encoder7: 93
Encoder8: 91
EncoderChannel1: -1
EncoderChannel2: -1
EncoderChannel3: -1
EncoderChannel4: -1
EncoderChannel5: -1
EncoderChannel6: -1
EncoderChannel7: -1
EncoderChannel8: -1

it seems to me that i have followed the directions carefully and it should work as intended. i have also tried the same thing with the axiom49

i have not tampered with the inputname/outputname and the file is located in a folder with the same name as my controller.

any help would be greatly appreciated

yur2die4
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:24 pm

With the Axiom it may not be necessary, as there are already scripts in Remote Surfaces that give you that functionality (and then some). There is an old tutorial for Axioms tucked away somewhere in the downloads section.

If however you still need to try this, something to keep in mind with the rotary encoders is that different layouts have them working in different kinds of modes. Some of those modes may not be Absolute. The quickest way to find out would probably be to midi map an encoder, wiggle it around a while and the bottom of the Live screen will tell you which kind of control you are mapping.

Best of luck :)

mduncs
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:21 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by mduncs » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:21 pm

thanks for the post. i dont like the encoders on the axiom so i was trying to get the faders to do it, sorry should have clarified. i'm mystified as to why this doesnt work on both my keyboards.

Wbowers
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:57 pm

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by Wbowers » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:12 pm

Hey everyone. Im just not able to get this work. I must be doing something wrong. Did something change between 8.2 and 8.3 with the way the scripts work. I know that it changed for the way lessons are created... I'm on a PC trying to write for a trigger finger (i know it has one but I can't get it to work either!). and I have been trying this out off and on for a few months now to no avail. any help would be so awesome thanks.

yur2die4
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by yur2die4 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:07 pm

First. To try working with the script that already exists you have to make sure that you are on the default preset for your hardware. That is usually 1. But documentation may show otherwise. Also, a reason why the preset may also not work is if that preset's parameters have been set to something else. To use the device you must choose the appropriate input and output from the drop down menu in Control Surfaces.

Second. They changed the folder where live's info is stored. I forget what it is actually, maybe application data or something. I have a feeling they made this change so that Live can upgrade within one version instead of creating folder after folder of updated renditions.

Best of luck!

Wbowers
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:57 pm

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by Wbowers » Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:26 am

All Right Got it to work! I even Got Punch In Effects to work too (different trick) Next Ill try this "Multiple Controller Trick" Ill be having to create a script based off of one of the preloaded scripts that come with live. Ill post my findings... Thanks again.

elseano
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 1:43 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by elseano » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:18 pm

Hey
if anyone is interested in getting the redbox like the apc40 here ya go
I used this http://modern.dj/app/
and combined with the original tip I now have a very cheap carillon 25 acting like a mini apc
its great having 8 knobs as opposed to 8 encoders which seems to be the future
so thanks ;)

Schiggy
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:05 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by Schiggy » Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:57 pm

Can someone please tell me where i can find that file to edit in Win XP?

edit: Is this possible at all in Live Lite? Can't find the damn thing...

edit: Alright, thanks to simmerdown, i found it: (C)/programfiles(x86)/Ableton/Live #/resources/MIDI Remote Scripts/tools

Schiggy
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:05 am

Re: a very useful MIDI tip

Post by Schiggy » Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:38 am

Sorry, but it seems that i am too stupid to get this to work. I want my Novation Nocturn to behave like in that video in the very first post.
If someone could give me a step-by-step guide... i'd really appreciate it. :wink: :roll:

Post Reply