Clips fired at intervals rather than looping?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
jonathanpduffy
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:39 pm

Clips fired at intervals rather than looping?

Post by jonathanpduffy » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:30 am

I don't think I have as much time as many, and so perhaps have missed some basic, important details...

I am loving the flexibility of live, mixing audio with clips etc... However, I can't work out how to set clips to trigger at regular intervals instead of simply looping.

Can I make it so a clip will 'fire' every 2, 4, or whatever bars in the session view?

Can I only do this in the arrangement view?

E.g. Nice drum loop :looped
Guitar strum: looped
Brass stab: every 4 bars!!! (in my dream)

I'm sure it's something to do with follow actions (which I haven't got my head around yet...)

Can anyone put me out of my misery?

Thanks :?
PC Laptop & Intel Macbook, Presonus Firebox, Echo Indigo DJ, MPC 2500, Planet Phatt, Xiosynth, microX, Kontrol 49, Live 6, Reason 4, Guru, ASS Modeling Collection, Pro53, Oddity, Fender Telecaster, an old acoustic guitar, Some mics, my sister's voice...

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:42 am

i think i would do it with volume enveloppes.
you'll have to "unlink" the enveloppe, and set it so that only 1 bar out of 4 (or 2 out of 8, etc) are full volume up.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:30 pm

You can turn looping off for the clip and set the follow actions to 4 bars and "Play again". It will play once every 4 bars :)


-tim

jonathanpduffy
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 6:39 pm

Post by jonathanpduffy » Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:20 am

many thanks for this.. It works!
PC Laptop & Intel Macbook, Presonus Firebox, Echo Indigo DJ, MPC 2500, Planet Phatt, Xiosynth, microX, Kontrol 49, Live 6, Reason 4, Guru, ASS Modeling Collection, Pro53, Oddity, Fender Telecaster, an old acoustic guitar, Some mics, my sister's voice...

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Post by starving student » Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:54 pm

might be easier to arrange how you want in the arranger view and then highlight everything and copy it back to the session view and trigger.

simon
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:06 am

Post by simon » Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:52 pm

Why don't you just change the loop to four bars with the brass-stab?

czechchap
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:25 pm

Post by czechchap » Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:02 am

timothyallan wrote:You can turn looping off for the clip and set the follow actions to 4 bars and "Play again". It will play once every 4 bars :)


-tim
This is the correct answer. If you can't find it, it's in the launch section of the clip controls underneatch launch type and quantisation. it's a very useful tool.

Post Reply