playing Live Drums on stage with ableton!?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
nemoy
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

playing Live Drums on stage with ableton!?

Post by nemoy » Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:12 am

Now here's the thing:
Image
I'm Trying to play drums live, and loop them in ableton.
And i wanna do that on stage as soon as possible.

But there's this one huge problem i have:
When i record a drumloop, the result I get is always about 35ms
late. you can hear it really easyly, and you can see it when looking
at the waveform. 35 ms is quite a lot, using a 96 samples buffer, isn't it?

When i Use the offset function on the Drumchanel, it only works when I
record a clip first and THEN aply the offset. If the offset is applied
while recording, the drum loop will be off by another 35 ms.

I've seen people using Ableton Live as Live Drum effect & mix Tool.
How the hell is this possible, when dealing with so much offset!?

What am i missing here!?
HELP!! :)

wehkah
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: playing Live Drums on stage with ableton!?

Post by wehkah » Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:46 pm

Can you post more about you channel setup please? Maybe the delay its caused by insert fx. Do you use a MAC or PC?

Nice setup photo! I really like it :)

cheers
T
Motto: sharing knowledge...

https://soundcloud.com/bytechop

Vresky
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: playing Live Drums on stage with ableton!?

Post by Vresky » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:39 pm

sound card is determinant, pci are the best solution ( less than 1 ms of latency) personaly i dont trust usb or firewire soundcard. no mather price ect, its still less direct than pci

cheers

Vios
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:13 am
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: playing Live Drums on stage with ableton!?

Post by Vios » Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:05 pm

Sounds like a simple driver error compensation problem? Have you setup the driver error compensation correctly in Live? To set it up go: View->Help, then click on "Learn how to setup your audio hardware". You'll have to physically wire the output of your soundcard to the input and then Live will measure the delay and give you a value to enter in your preferences.

Post Reply