All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Comping between takes using Chain Selector
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:37 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 2404
I think this is new - I'm so pleased with it I just had to share!

Study this image and all will be revealed...

Image

The four tracks containing the different takes are set to sends only and the sends (not shown) are set to zero.

Track 5 contains the Comping Rack - it's a MIDI track so you can easily crate an empty clip of any length and use the clip envelope to control the chain selector - alternatively in arrange view you could use automation.

Each chain in the rack contains a compressor, but it is not used as such. It is used purely because it has the ability to monitor the sidechain input. changes to the compression parameters have no effect on the sidechain sound - except for the FB button which mutes it.

Each compressor takes its sidechain input from a different "Take" track

Setup the chain selector something like in the image - the fade-in/out on each range is necessary, it doesn't work without them.

Click on the chain selectors numeric scale to make the selector jump between regions and select a particular take.

Automate it and bob's your uncle.

_________________
I am one who delights in all manifestations of the Terpsichorean muse.

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comping between takes using Chain Selector
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:54 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm
Posts: 7083
Brilliant!

_________________
ImageS4LImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comping between takes using Chain Selector
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:55 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 2404
thanks! 8)

_________________
I am one who delights in all manifestations of the Terpsichorean muse.

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comping between takes using Chain Selector
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:03 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3473
Wow ! i can imagine many creative uses of this technique ! Thank you very much for sharing this idea.

_________________
http://www.chapelierfou.com
Mac OS 10.6, L8 and L9, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Comping between takes using Chain Selector
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 831
Good idea, I'll try this out tonight!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group