DJing with Ableton and the APC40 (I need guidance)

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
infinitesinewave

DJing with Ableton and the APC40 (I need guidance)

Post by infinitesinewave » Sat May 04, 2013 8:41 pm

Hey guys... I NEED HELP!!! I've had some minor success on youtube trying to bring live elements to DJing and now I've caught myself in a bind. I'm primarily a musician... not a DJ... but there's a promoter in town who wants me to start DJing right away. I told him I still had to finish one more track using 4 Quneos (which is true)... and then I would be availabe. However... I don't know anything about DJing. I was going to buy all this fancy equipment but then I found some pretty awesome DJ sets on youtube with just the APC40 and Ableton.

I need some guidance... should I buy legit DJ equipment like the Pioneer DJM2000 or can I just do everything using my Quneos, the APC40, & Ableton (WHAT A GREAT PROGRAM... I wish I would have switched earlier). Will it be professional? I want to incorporate the live element of actually playing the instruments into my DJ set.

Am I getting in over my head? How long will it take for me to be prepared to actually do a decent job DJing for 1 hour-1.5 hours? Should I buy the professional equipment?

My inclination is to get creative with what I already own. Advice? Suggestions?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqtJ6GrzTL0
Last edited by infinitesinewave on Sun May 05, 2013 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: DJing with Ableton and the APC40 (I need guidance)

Post by 102455 » Sat May 04, 2013 8:49 pm

I just answered this in the other thread where you asked the same thing....

infinitesinewave

Post by infinitesinewave » Sun May 05, 2013 2:49 am

I know, i Appreciate it... But after i posted the question i realized the topic is unrelated on my other thread. So people will not look there. In response... I have the fireface400 . Great pristine soundcard.

yur2die4