Realtime Looping ESSENTIAL CONFIG

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Realtime Looping ESSENTIAL CONFIG

Post by chapelier fou » Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:39 am

You'd need an interface with separated outputs.
You'd need also (although i am not a specialist) some sort or 're-amping' direct box. I know Radial makes some that must be really good.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

OldBee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:04 am

Re: Realtime Looping ESSENTIAL CONFIG

Post by OldBee » Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:48 pm

Thanks Chapalier, much appreciated!

pgarrido
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Realtime Looping ESSENTIAL CONFIG

Post by pgarrido » Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:12 pm

Hello. Thank you so much for sharing this, I'm not as lost now.
I have a question regarding it's possibilities for what I want to do.

Say a song has 2 chord progressions. Verses and choruses. Could I build the chorus (Bass, percussion with midi controller, backing vocals, piano), mute all, and when the chorus comes activate all the loops without a loop pedal?

Can you program a song so each loop can activate and mute at a given time in the song?
(I could keep the same rythm in the verses)

Or say even that I want to build 2 different song sections (chord progressions with bass and all)
Could I build those and just set virtual midi buttons to trigger differents loops at a given time in the song?
I hope I explained it well.
Thank you so much for reading and helping,

P.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5063
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Realtime Looping ESSENTIAL CONFIG

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:35 pm

pgarrido wrote:Hello. Thank you so much for sharing this, I'm not as lost now.
I have a question regarding it's possibilities for what I want to do.

Say a song has 2 chord progressions. Verses and choruses. Could I build the chorus (Bass, percussion with midi controller, backing vocals, piano), mute all, and when the chorus comes activate all the loops without a loop pedal?

Can you program a song so each loop can activate and mute at a given time in the song?
(I could keep the same rythm in the verses)

Or say even that I want to build 2 different song sections (chord progressions with bass and all)
Could I build those and just set virtual midi buttons to trigger differents loops at a given time in the song?
I hope I explained it well.
Thank you so much for reading and helping,

P.
Definitely yes. I won't care to explain in detail since i assume you don't own Live yet or did not spend enough time for now. You'll have to find some workarounds but in the end you should reach your goal.
The only gripe that has never been completely solved) is working with anacrusis (notes before the first beat of a section).
But with audio clips, Looper effects and some Dummy clips wizardry, clever MIDI mappings and M4L or ClyphX, you should be good.

Just picked a random video from me a few years ago that might give you an idea : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJgVXY3waXI
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

Post Reply