(image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

(image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Post by samtastic » Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:52 am

does anyone know of a technique to have Live play off-grid notes from the first cycle of the clip?


if you look in the image below, the first note (E4) doesn't sound during the first cycle of the clip, as its midi-on message is outside the beginning of the clip;

Image

is there a way to have Live sound that first note (without moving the clip-start marker)? i like the way it is grooving, off the grid. but it would be nice to have it play the full melody during the first cycle.

JoshG567
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:42 pm

Re: (image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Post by JoshG567 » Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:10 pm

Perhaps try offsetting that instrument from the others with a negative mixer delay instead of offsetting the MIDI to get the early attacks you want?

timday
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: (image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Post by timday » Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:24 pm

I assume this is in session view? Maybe you could have a clip with a blank bar before the notes, and start it a bar early. I appreciate you didn't want to move the start point but that would work. You could either loop in that clip or use a follow action to go to the clip you illustrated after 1 bar.

Otherwise negative track delay like the man said.

samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: (image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Post by samtastic » Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:23 am

yes, it is in session view.

thanks for the replies:)

chrk
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Re: (image inc) getting first note to sound in off-grid clips?

Post by chrk » Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:46 am

samtastic wrote:(without moving the clip-start marker)?
Have you tried that, though? It might work.
AFAIR start-/end-points and loop points are independent from each other. The first cycle should play from start point to end-of-loop, the second cycle should pick up at start-of-loop. You may have to adapt the clip quantisation as well.

Post Reply