Midi output questions

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
digdugger

Midi output questions

Post by digdugger » Mon Aug 10, 2015 1:12 am

I'm new to Ableton. In fact I'm not a musician. I'm using Ableton to control some custom led lighting effects that I have designed for a band. I pretty much have the control scheme figured out except for two anomalies that I don't understand.

1) When I play a clip Ableton seems to send the note on message before the note off. This is the output from my looped back serial monitor:

Note OFF: 84 64
Note ON: 84 100

Since the velocities are the correct default values for off and on I can't see that I've mixed up the messages somewhere or have I? I watch the progress of the clip in ableton and I definitely see the note off being echoed before the note on. I just need to know if this is expected behaviour or not so that I don't go digging in code if I don't have to. If it is expected then can I change this behaviour or what should I think about?

2) When I send a program change message (program 2) at the start of a clip I get 2 messages not one like this:

Program Change: 1
Program Change: 64

Playing around with bank and sub bank it seems that the second program change message is always follows the sub bank except if its not set then it defaults to 64. I could filter this second message. Essentially make it an invalid program number.