Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:28 am

Hi.

After 10 years, I'm switching back from my macbook to a brand new PCay :!:

Because I'm a man of the 21th centuray, I'm using cloud base solution (dropbox) to save all my shit.

My question : will all my ableton live project will open correctly when I get them back on my PCay hard drive?

Cheers :mrgreen:

timday
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by timday » Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:22 am

Should do unless you have third party plugins that are only AU. Also worth movng your user library to the cloud based solution so all your presets etc just turn up in the new user library on the PC.

The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:56 pm

Thanks!
I think I'm simply gonna move everything that is not mac system to the cloud!

icehouse
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by icehouse » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:43 am

Is it safe zipping/upzipping Ableton Live projects?
I jump back and forth from Mac to Pc.

The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:21 am

Not sure about zipping and stuff,
but I come back to this thread because I have created it, and I want to confirm :

Ableton Live project are totally compatible between multiple computer, Mac/PC, as long as you have the same plug-ins installed on all the computers.

I sync my projects on dropbox from my Mac, and I can open them in my PC, and vice-versa. :idea: :mrgreen:

icehouse
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by icehouse » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:45 pm

If you don't have the same plugins, does it still open up, but with some type of message about missing plugin?

Pitch Black
Posts: 6444
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by Pitch Black » Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:56 pm

icehouse wrote:Is it safe zipping/upzipping Ableton Live projects?
I jump back and forth from Mac to Pc.
I've never had a problem with zipping/unzipping Live projects when sending them via the internet ...albeit between Macs, but I don't imagine any problems with the zipping/unzipping itself. You might want to look at using the Create Pack function from the Manage Files menu option instead however, as this uses lossless compression on the audio files included in the Project. It REALLY reduces the size of the file you need to upload/download/transfer. I use this often to send projects to my overseas collaborator and it works very well.
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

icehouse
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by icehouse » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:31 pm

Pitch Black wrote:
icehouse wrote:Is it safe zipping/upzipping Ableton Live projects?
I jump back and forth from Mac to Pc.
I've never had a problem with zipping/unzipping Live projects when sending them via the internet ...albeit between Macs, but I don't imagine any problems with the zipping/unzipping itself. You might want to look at using the Create Pack function from the Manage Files menu option instead however, as this uses lossless compression on the audio files included in the Project. It REALLY reduces the size of the file you need to upload/download/transfer. I use this often to send projects to my overseas collaborator and it works very well.
Okay, thanks for this tip! Or Trick? Either one, it is good to know.

The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:06 am

icehouse wrote:If you don't have the same plugins, does it still open up, but with some type of message about missing plugin?
Yes, it still opens with a warning message.
Pretty cool.

icehouse
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Moving ableton files from Mac to PC

Post by icehouse » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:26 pm

The Carpet Cleaner wrote:
icehouse wrote:If you don't have the same plugins, does it still open up, but with some type of message about missing plugin?
Yes, it still opens with a warning message.
Pretty cool.
ok thanks.

Post Reply