Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
nibsti
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:21 pm

Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Post by nibsti » Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:24 pm

I'm pretty sure the answer I'm looking for is here: (viewtopic.php?f=4&t=118911), however the screenshots aren't there anymore. I want to use a midi track that Gsnap will use for autotune but I don't know how to route it to Gsnap. I'm also unfamiliar with return tracks so if I need to use those then let me know! Any help is appreciated, beginner here! :)

nibsti
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Post by nibsti » Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:37 pm

well, I figured it out, I couldn't route the Midi track to the Return track because putting an instrument on the midi track turned it into an audio track.

tim_cant
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:05 pm

Re: Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Post by tim_cant » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:07 pm

Thanks - I'm trying to do the same thing but can't for the life of me work out how to do it.

I've got an audio track that I've put vocals down on and separately a midi which has a set of notes on - how do I get the midi to speak through the audio track?

Obviously probably a pretty basic question for some...

katata
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:37 am

Re: Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Post by katata » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:09 pm

Oh my fucking god!! Im too close of throwing my computer out of the window!! For a several hours Ive been trying to map midi melody to audio track including singing. But it just doesnt work. Does Gsnap work with live 10??

What I have done

1. sang an audio clip
2. composed a melody with some piano
3. "output type" of the midi melody i put to the audio track
4. gsnap-> to midi mode

And nothing happens. Please help me!! :cry: :cry: :| :|

pottering
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Trying to use GSnap with a midi input, not sure how to route

Post by pottering » Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:21 pm

1- Put GSnap in the Track you want to affect.

2- Set GSnap to "Snap to MIDI Input".

3- Create a empty MIDI Track.

4- In the MIDI Track's "MIDI To" select the Track that holds GSnap. If the track has other devices that receive MIDI you may need to use the second drop-down menu to select GSnap.

5- Don't forget to arm the empty MIDI Track.

Post Reply