Need Help: Sample Editor playhead and selection question

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
ozinga
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:43 am

Need Help: Sample Editor playhead and selection question

Post by ozinga » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:17 am

Need help with the sample editor window
?s there a way to start the playback in the sample editor from a specific point of the wave?
When I click to locate I only get blue triangle and the file plays from the start no matter what. I want to select a point and want the waveorm start playing at that point every time I start until I change the selection. I also want to highlight a selection and play just that part and if possible drag and drop the selection to a new track. Like selecting a snare hit and dragging it to a new track. Is the arrange page the only option for these?
I hope I was clear. Basically looking for a simple selecting auditioning and editing functions in the sample editor.
Thanks
Oz

pottering
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Need Help: Sample Editor playhead and selection question

Post by pottering » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:54 pm

Yeah, for that you need to edit in Arrangement View.

Live doesn't really edit the samples (the original samples never get touched in Live), only the Clips, and you can't edit/split Clips in Session.

In Session View, one way is duping the Clip (ctrl+D, ctrl+drag, copypaste, etc.), then you simply select the part you want in the dupe and hit ctrl+L.

It is a inverted order, but almost the same. "Dupe clip > select> cut" instead of "select> cut > dupe clip".

pottering
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Need Help: Sample Editor playhead and selection question

Post by pottering » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:01 pm

For drum loops you can just use Simpler. Why even slice and place snares one by one?

ozinga
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:43 am

Re: Need Help: Sample Editor playhead and selection question

Post by ozinga » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:22 am

pottering wrote:For drum loops you can just use Simpler. Why even slice and place snares one by one?

Thanks for the reply.
That is how I do it normally with loops short files etc (Simpler)
But today I imported a long file with mixed stuff in it to an audio track and tried if I could do some chopping, extracting etc in the edit window. Need to keep in mind the difference between the actual audio file and a clip.
Best
Oz

Post Reply