custom als file mods

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
mrniceguy863
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:27 pm

custom als file mods

Post by mrniceguy863 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:41 pm

I was creating a new drum rack consisting of a bunch of chord samples (one chord sample per simpler, one simpler per drum pad), when i realized that, while I was able to simply select all my audio clips and drag them into the drum rack to load them up, it was not a quick or easy task to add midi or audio effects to each of the resulting simplers in the drum pads. Additionally, while some of the parameters on the simplers have the "copy to siblings" command in the right-click dropdown, there are are also some parameters that do not have this function (warp being one of them).

To solve this problem, I unzipped the .als file and wrote a python script to parse the resulting xml file, and handle the tedious tasks for me programmatically. It's very simplistic right now and a bit messy, but if there's interest, I'd be happy to clean it up and put it on github.

Anyone else have experience with this problem, or with modifying their .als files for any reason?

pottering
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: custom als file mods

Post by pottering » Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:17 pm

LOL

"unzipped"

In the past I just dropped ALS in a text editor, so I thought they were binary.

Thanks for the unzip tip!

I definitely have interest in the tool too, of course.

the_sweet_spot
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:10 pm
Contact:

Re: custom als file mods

Post by the_sweet_spot » Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:56 am

will this solve the simpler inside a drum rack issue
that most all parameters can be " copied to siblings"
but gain and warp mode not?

i´ve created drum racks and did not pay attention to this in the beginning
but when a projects grows i suddenly got glitches and audio drop outs when plaing these racks
where warm mode was turned on
a look at the ram meter showed me
that ableton uses more than 16gb of ram
and most of it used in the cache

i´m after a solution too
would love to try this script

i´m on a imac 2014

Post Reply