Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
TheMoonshiner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:23 am

Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Post by TheMoonshiner » Sat Feb 20, 2021 5:42 am

I started using Ableton with Suite 10 and I have now started working in Suite 11 Beta but I've noticed that some of the old devices have been updated/modified. Is there a quick way to save the Suite 10 Audio and MIDI devices so I can still use them in 11 without having to go save each device individually?

pottering
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Post by pottering » Sat Feb 20, 2021 9:12 pm

There is a "Legacy" folder inside the Core Library (Core Library\Devices\Audio Effects\Legacy) with all the older presets. It is not visible in the Browser, you have to find it with your OS file manager

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... re-Library

Tarekith
Posts: 17765
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Post by Tarekith » Sat Feb 20, 2021 10:38 pm

To be clear, your older projects will still open with their previous settings, the older devices are just not something you can add to new projects going forward.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

TheMoonshiner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:23 am

Re: Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Post by TheMoonshiner » Sun Feb 21, 2021 7:59 am

pottering wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 9:12 pm
There is a "Legacy" folder inside the Core Library (Core Library\Devices\Audio Effects\Legacy) with all the older presets. It is not visible in the Browser, you have to find it with your OS file manager

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... re-Library
Thank you!

TheMoonshiner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:23 am

Re: Migrating Live 10 Suite devices to Live 11?

Post by TheMoonshiner » Sun Feb 21, 2021 8:04 am

Tarekith wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 10:38 pm
To be clear, your older projects will still open with their previous settings, the older devices are just not something you can add to new projects going forward.
I’m aware of that. Some of the devices are part of racks and other setups I have created. Until I get around to changing them it’s useful for me to have access to the older versions.

Post Reply