Guitarist needs hands-free way to use Session View

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
gfea

Guitarist needs hands-free way to use Session View

Post by gfea » Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:25 pm

Hello all you sexy Live users all over this weird, wonderful Earth,

First a disclaimer: I'm not a newbie, and yes, I did research this topic before posting.

That said, I have scoured this forum and the Live manual looking for a way to get Live to automatically advance to the next clip while recording on a track in Session view- am I missing something? Here's what I'm up to:

Say I come up with a cool riff or chord on my guitar, and I want to make a one- or two-bar Clip. I'm not a master guitar player, and I like slight variations, so I want to record 10 or 15 Clips in a row, without taking my hands off the guitar. Then, I could play them all back with the rest of a song and delete the ones that suck. How could I set up Live to automatically advance to the next Clip and keep recording, and do it according to a set value (such as "1 Bar") without using MIDI control?

I read the Vernon Reid article about him loving Live, as well as several other guitarists and people in guitar-driven bands. I know I could get a footswitch and use it to advance to the next clip according to the Global Quantization, but I currently do not own a MIDI foot controller.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. You guys are the best!

Best, giantflesheatingant
Asus P4 3.2GHz 1GB Dual Channel RAM
M-Audio Delta 66/ OmniStudio
Live 5.0.2 - Reason 3.0.3 - Sound Forge 7
Edirol PCR-50 - Line 6 POD XT
Lots of cats - Inflatable Monkeys

Johnisfaster

Post by Johnisfaster » Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:08 am