[tip] Step sequencer .als

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
claudek
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 10:21 pm

Post by claudek » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:54 am

This is cool..Too bad live cannot make group tracks, so one could select all of them and make them into one track. I do not see how you made the 1/4 notes/1/8 notes etc..It would be cool to make a random mode or pandelum.
Albleton really needs to make a serious ultimate step sequencer that can makes us all faint.
Mac G4 Quicksilver 1000GHz / Motu 828 /OSX 10.3.9
&
Mac Ibook G4 800GHz OSX 10.3.9 /Core Audio/M Audio Oxy 8
PC: ASUS 2.8 GHz P4 / XP

Live 5.02

eisnein
Posts: 828
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: undisclosed
Contact:

Post by eisnein » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:38 pm

glad i found this thread! i have been working on this step sequencer for live input.

i was inspired by Machinate's mangler a ways back and was trying to figure out a solution for my father (yeah its a family affair) to use for live performance so I created this step sequencer for live audio input using dummy clips. I have it setup with a loop as the source material but if you just take the loop out and set the input to a guitar/vox/anything its really fun to play with.

I have the steps turn on/off with keys A-Z like Machinate's step or with midi notes C1-C2 on white keys only. With the Oxygen controller I mapped the four bottom knobs to an fx parameter for step 1 3 5 7 and the top knobs to 2 4 6 8. i have some filters/flanger/bitcrushers on there now and then its all routed to Bus B which also has some FX on it as well.

I started tweaking it for Live 6 during alpha, although I havent yet upgraded but i think it would be really cool to map certain fx controls of several of the steps to one midi control and just go to town with it.

anyway here is the session-

http://theycontrol.us/DtStepper.zip

best,

elijah
second class robot

eisnein
Posts: 828
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: undisclosed
Contact:

Post by eisnein » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:40 pm

oops sorry if you dont have speedster as a plugin, just ignore it or go download it! forgot to take that one out.
second class robot

segue
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 6:00 am

Post by segue » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:13 am

came back to this one after some time and still dig the concept :)

Casual Beats
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 9:15 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Post by Casual Beats » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:46 pm

wow, just stumbled upon this.

Very cool Machinate!!

bigmonster7
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:02 pm

Re: [tip] Step sequencer .als

Post by bigmonster7 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:19 am

anyone have this template anywhere?

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [tip] Step sequencer .als

Post by Machinate » Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:40 am

Woah, holy necro-bump, Batman!

I no longer keep that template anywhere, since it's been superceded by other more elaborate and fun setups. Have a look-see, my friend:
http://thecovertoperators.org/Search?or ... =sequencer
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Post Reply