Creating A Pitch Dive, Like On A 1200.....

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
Troutfish
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:08 am

Creating A Pitch Dive, Like On A 1200.....

Post by Troutfish » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:18 am

I've been using Live (4 then 5) for some time now, but i'm yet to work out if there is an easy way to re-create the sound you get when you hit the start/stop button on a Technics 1200 while a tune is playing. Like a short pitch and tempo dive.

I've tried doing a dive on the transpose envelope and on the tempo envelope, but can't get the sound i'm looking for.

Can anyone make a suggestion on how to achieve the break i'm looking for?

Cheers.
Troutfish

Apple Mac Dual 867 G4, 17" Studio Display, 1.25Gb RAM, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, Korg microKONTROL, Denon DNX1500, 2xTechnics 1200 (Shure M44G Carts), 2xTechnics SLDZ1200, Ableton Live 5, Reason v2.5

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:44 am

I imagine the deceleration would be logarithmic rather then linear.

So you'd need to draw a curve in the tempo/pitch envelopes rather then a straight line.

-Ben

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:06 am

right, you'll be wanting the tapestop plug in!!!

http://www.kvraudio.com/get/826.html

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:11 am

uh, except for it looks like windows only.

right, you'll be wanting to go over to your friends house and use tapestop on his pc!

Troutfish
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:08 am

Post by Troutfish » Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:12 pm

MrYellow wrote:I imagine the deceleration would be logarithmic rather then linear.

So you'd need to draw a curve in the tempo/pitch envelopes rather then a straight line.

-Ben
Yeah, tried that, but you just don't get the tight response, but cheers.
longjohns wrote:uh, except for it looks like windows only.

right, you'll be wanting to go over to your friends house and use tapestop on his pc!
Gutted! Yeah, guess that looks like my only option at this stage, cheers for the suggestion!
Troutfish

Apple Mac Dual 867 G4, 17" Studio Display, 1.25Gb RAM, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, Korg microKONTROL, Denon DNX1500, 2xTechnics 1200 (Shure M44G Carts), 2xTechnics SLDZ1200, Ableton Live 5, Reason v2.5

Troutfish
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:08 am

Post by Troutfish » Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:18 pm

Just bumping this back up, in the hope that someone may have found an OSX equivalent of tapestop.......

Cheers!
Troutfish

Apple Mac Dual 867 G4, 17" Studio Display, 1.25Gb RAM, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, Korg microKONTROL, Denon DNX1500, 2xTechnics 1200 (Shure M44G Carts), 2xTechnics SLDZ1200, Ableton Live 5, Reason v2.5

Post Reply