M-audio Trigger finger, touch sensitivity issue.

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

M-audio Trigger finger, touch sensitivity issue.

Post by Lamont » Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:49 pm

I lost all of my stored presets in my M-audio trigger finger for some dodgy reason.:?
I've been re-installing my lost presets (sending CC and midi notes to Ableton) and I've partially succeeded.
There's only one BIG problem, I just can't seem to get the touch sensitivity set up properly. I have to press down really hard to trigger samples and what not.
Anybody have a clue?

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:26 am

did you assign notes to do this?

it then probably only triggers the sample if the press beyond 64!
macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Lamont » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:22 am

Yes, that seems to be the problem, thanks.
How do I change this?

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:26 am

for example > you can lock the velocity for all pads
macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Lamont » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 am

Bedankt! I'll try it out right now!
Does it mean I'll have to use note 127 for all pads if I want extra sensitivity?

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:35 am

no probs!

no you can use different notes, but using this, the velocity for all notes is maximum so 127.

groetjes
macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

controlphr33k
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: M-audio Trigger finger, touch sensitivity issue.

Post by controlphr33k » Tue Sep 05, 2006 5:07 pm

Lamont wrote:I lost all of my stored presets in my M-audio trigger finger for some dodgy reason.:?
I've been re-installing my lost presets (sending CC and midi notes to Ableton) and I've partially succeeded.
There's only one BIG problem, I just can't seem to get the touch sensitivity set up properly. I have to press down really hard to trigger samples and what not.
Anybody have a clue?
It sounds like you are not using Enigma, M-Audio's free Editor and librarian for the Trigger Finger (and their other MIDI controllers).

With Enigma you could have backed up your entire bank of presets, and them loaded them back on with the push of a button if anything happened to your Trigger Finger.

I suggest you check out the user group devoted specifically to using Enigma with M-Audio products. Lots of knowledgable Trigger Finger users there:

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/M-Audio_Enigma/

cheers,

cF

zsazsa
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:31 pm
Location: Deventer

Post by zsazsa » Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:47 pm

you can adjust the velocity sensitivity curve by going into edit mode and moving Fader 3. Curve 7 suits me best.

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Lamont » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:02 pm

Thanks a lot.
I noticed when I reboot my computer my trigger finger keeps forgetting its presets, I uploaded my recent presets to Enigma, but how do I recall these presets? (might sound like a dumb question, but Enigma sends the saved presets to my trigger finger
and it still doesn't respond properly).

Damn, I have an important show coming up.

Thanks for the help.

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Lamont » Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:05 pm

Every time I restart my computer my Trigger finger forgets its internal presets. I tried to use Enigma today for the first time.
I program all of my presets in Trigger finger and upload them into Enigma. Once I've restarted my lap top all of the presets in the trigger finger are gone, ... I then open Enigma to send the saved presets to the Trigger finger, the Trigger finger seems to download the presets, but nothing seems to happen.

Could this be a hardware issue? I take the Trigger finger on the road a lot.

Thanks for the help.

zsazsa
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:31 pm
Location: Deventer

Post by zsazsa » Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:50 am

You need to change a bank before the TF loads the changes.
Upload your preset from Enigma -> change bank (could be the same as you were in) -> play.

mooncaine
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm

Zsazsa's right: upload changes, then ....

Post by mooncaine » Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:27 am

.... choose some other preset, just to stir up the TF's memory. I think of it as poking it to wake it up. When you again select the preset you wanted to use, it'll have the changed settings you uploaded.

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Lamont » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:14 pm

Thanks guys, you really helped a lot!:D
I found the problem. Now I use Enigma to upload and edit presets.
I do hope that M-Audio makes more in depth manuals for their midi controllers in the future. It took me 2 long days to figure things out and none of the instructions I needed were to be found in their manuals and these instructions were very basic.
Not everybody is a midi wizard.

Post Reply