A couple of HOW TO questions

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
Aldanor

A couple of HOW TO questions

Post by Aldanor » Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:02 am

Hello all,

I'm kind of new to Live, was previously (and actively) using FL Studio - so I've gotta couple of newbiesh 'how to <..> in Live' questions. Just to mention, I'm focusing on progtrance and idm music.

1) What I was usually doing in FL - load up a dozen of drum samples in sequencer, apply effects where necessary, start creating patterns - say, several kick patterns, several for hats, some for claps etc. In 10 minutes or so I can have twenty fully stuffed and fxed patterns and I go to song editor and use them as building blocks to lay out the drum track structure, takes 1 minute.

What is the fastest way to do it this way in Live (drum track from a scratch in 10 minutes)? Use Impulse / racked Simpler / Battery / whatever else and start drawing midi in session view?

What do you usually do to lay out drum tracks and do you record em in arr. or sess. views?

2) Session vs Arrangement: in FL everything is clear, song is made of patterns and audio clips apart, patterns (and only patterns) are stuffed with midi, that's it. What confuses me in Live: strange relationship between sess/arr views. Say, I made 20 midi clips in session view, grouped them into scenes. Now I record the structure into arrangement view - and then I realize I made a mistake in one clip and I want to tweak a single note in it, however session/arr clips seem to be not connected at all.. so I have to go through all recorded clips in arr view and change that note manually? Is there a way to 'link clips' in arr. view - so that all linked clips change if I edit one? It makes sense if I do manual gating / enveloping.

What is your usual sequence of actions when you wanna sketch your idea from a scratch quickly?