THE Rack List. (What can you do with Racks?)

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
xherv
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:42 am

Post by xherv » Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:43 pm

Mr Mowgli wrote:Would be really useful to have a simple 'auto-transpoer' although I was told by someone at ableton that they are considering adding this in the 'loop/warp area, I hate dragging whole sequences up and octave/down 2 etc...arrrgggg lol
This is actually pretty easy to pull off. Create a MIDI rack with parallel chains containing the pitch plug, set at -12, +12 etc. Click "chain" in the chain list / middle part of the rack), put each chain on a separate numerical column (0 for -12, 1 for no change, 2 for +12). The orange bar above can be manipulated across the columns, whatever chain is active in the selected column passes through.

The orange bar can be mapped to a rack knob, you can set the range of the knob to reflect ensure the full sweep of the knob moves through the range of columns you have chains in. I suggest labeling the chains to reflect the pitch shift as when you turn the knob, it'll give you some text as to which chain you've moved to.

This basic rack is expandable, too. You cou include thirds or fifths in the chains (-12,-7,-5,0,5,7,12) for some more harmonic transpositions, maybe in conjunction with a scale plug on a lead passage. Or if you manipulate the the upper part of the row bars associated with a chain, you can crossfade velocity, and subtly sweep some pads like that.

sandslash
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:42 pm

Post by sandslash » Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:06 pm

Thanks for all the information! :)

lars14
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:45 am

Post by lars14 » Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:32 pm

wow! thanks for the list. Found a lot of neat stuff!

Varoudis
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:53 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Varoudis » Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:39 am

does anyone has the magicsends rack? the site is down :(

thnx

allenz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:39 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by allenz » Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:34 pm

Hi,
Thanks for sharing the - Racks list.Keep up posting the good work.

jlgrimes
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by jlgrimes » Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:14 pm

Probably mentioned before.

Stereo Panner (audio effect rack).

1. Drag in a utility device.
2. Select device and press Ctrl+G.
3. Drag in a second utility device under the 1st chain.
4. Set 1st utility device input to left.
5. Set 2nd utility device input to right.
6. Map the 1st utility pan to macro 1 (call it Pan Left or something).
7. Map the 2nd utility pan to macro 2 (call it Pan Right or something).


Now you will be able to pan your stereo tracks anywhere in the panorama like DAWs like Pro Tools.

spiral
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by spiral » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:01 am

been trying to emulate my boss os-2 pedal with saturator and racks
this http://acidboxblues.blogspot.com/2009/0 ... -live.html is as close as I have got
needs more work but its a start and thought I'd share it

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:22 pm

Beat Looker - Realtime Scratch, Beat Juggle, Repitch and Reverse audio input using only Live's built in plug-ins.

Beat Looker - Realtime Beat Mangling Tool
Last edited by rbmonosylabik on Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Jekblad » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:26 pm

the vid looks AWESOME DUDE.

having a problem w/the download. its comes as a ZIP file, when i unzip it it's not an .adg file
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:36 pm

Jekblad wrote:the vid looks AWESOME DUDE.

having a problem w/the download. its comes as a ZIP file, when i unzip it it's not an .adg file
It's a Live Pack, try adding the .alp extension. Don't know why it gets removed when you unzip. I'm going to reupload it.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Jekblad » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:51 pm

AH, live pack. shoulda thought about that. i'll try that....

HEYA! totally works
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:55 pm

w00t!!!

Reuploaded. Put the .alp into a folder to prevent unzipping to do weird stuff to the extension.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by Jekblad » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:05 am

mono this rack is killr and i love ya for it.
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by friend_kami » Fri Apr 17, 2009 12:54 am

i took that rack idea and made a little (little?) fsu rack based on my old live performer rack i made for 7.

only using one looper aswell.
all you need to do to set it up is to map the record button (not the big transport) to the same midi button that you launch your scenes with. thats it. this way it record one bar each scene you launch so you can then reverse it whenever you feel like.

i dissected that mono rack and placed them out in my fsu rack but its basicly the same idea, although they sit better where they are now in my rack, for me personally.

SO, a big thank you from me mr rbmonosylabik, sir.

with that said, if anyones interested in the new improved fsu rack, its here:

http://nwrecords.com/storage/racks/effe ... FSU-er.adg

and heres what it looks like incase youre interested:

Image

perhaps someone might find it interesting.
all put together in one nice glitchy package. wahu.

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: THE Rack List. (What can YOU do with Racks in Live 6?)

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:05 am

wow, that bad boy looks sick!
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Post Reply