All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:10 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:49 am
Posts: 116
while I agree you were being helpful.. this does not help the users question.. we simply want to be able to use a footswitch to turn fx on/off i.e. press once fx is on, press again fx is off.

I can't figure this out either, and the reason why your method will not work is that you've got it set up to turn off when another comes on. how is that even related?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:19 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 8:58 pm
Posts: 33
Location: California
I read earlier or maybe somewhere else, that you need to upgrade either the eprom chip or firmware to get the pedals to act like stomp boxes, On/Off. Otherwise, it's just On and you have to do something like I did, program one pedal for no effects and use that to "turn off" the effects.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:03 am 

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:42 pm
Posts: 90
Thanks SO much for this. I program the damn thing so infrequently that every time I procrastinate because I know the nightmare of going to the manual. You saved me big time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:21 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:22 am
Posts: 17
So, having now spent forever reading through this thread, I'm not much wiser... can someone please tell me whether the FCB1010 can send cc's to ableton to toggle things on/off using just one preset? it seems no-one has a solution so far.

I'm resorting to giving each switch in every bank a unique note, and setting all notes to emerge from midi channel 3. I'm using cc's for each expression pedal - pedal A is on channel 4, pedal B is on channel 5. Each pedal has a low value of 0 and a high value of 127. Pedals A and B each have the same cc value, but since they are on different channels, (3 and 4), they don't conflict. Starting from the first preset, expression pedals A and B each have cc's starting from 1 and going up to 100.

I'd much rather use cc's so that I don't conflict with keyboard notes, so if anyone knows how to use cc's so that the same button will switch things on and off, and especially for using the looper, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
k1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:36 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:43 am
Posts: 16
hey clarity...

do you think you could explain what CNT 1 actually means? I followed your steps and they worked... i can now map stomp 1 to arm a track. but I don't understand how to get the expression pedals involved in this.

I assume i will have to do this for every stomp to set the CCs? but even so all i can do is turn stuff on/off just like any other midi controller.

My intention is to have each of the 10 stomps be assigned to a 'setting' for my guitar, which i will design with live. I would like the two expression pedals to be involved, as in changing a parameter such as reverb dry/wet, or an auto filter frequency. I was under the impression that this is why most people use this pedal.

There doesn't seem to be any resources on the internet as far as explaining the basic functions of this pedal.

How did you even figure this shit out?

Please get back to me. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:10 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:43 am
Posts: 16
nevermind I figured it out.

You should write in your step by step post what each step is actually doing.

at first it seemed to me like a completely random sequence of button presses, and i didn't know what these values i was putting in were.

but after doing it enough times i've realized that it's actually a pretty logical way to program each button.

maybe i'll write my own intro to the FCB thread


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 3:00 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:39 am
Posts: 3
So I got the same problems everyone else seems to have and then some.

1. Using Clarity's tutorial, the switches won't toggle an effect on and off, just turn on if set to 127 and off if set to 0. Should I just use notes for the switches instead of CCs?

2. The resolution on Pedal A and Pedal B are really bad. When I map them to control a wet/dry on effects or filter sweeps it makes big jumps and sounds gross. Is there a fix for this?

3. Pedal A and Pedal B don't get to the minimum 0 when I tilt them all the way off yet they go all the way to the maximum 127. What's the deal with that?

I would really love some help with my show tomorrow night and I'm sick of using my sustain pedal to control effects and the looper. My apologies if someone already answered these and I missed it.

Thanks so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 3:43 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:39 am
Posts: 3
AlexPlaysKeytar wrote:
1. Using Clarity's tutorial, the switches won't toggle an effect on and off, just turn on if set to 127 and off if set to 0. Should I just use notes for the switches instead of CCs?


I THINK I GOT IT. This was in the manual.

"2.5 Controller toggle function

This function allows you to configure one controller so that it alternately sends two different values, e.g. effect bypass, drive on/off, etc.

In order to enable the controller switch-over function, you need to globally select the same MIDI channel for CNT1 and CNT2 (see chapter 2.2), and enter the same controller number for CNT1 and CNT2 in the preset (NUMBER, see chapter 2.4.4).

The first time you recall the preset, it will send the controller value of CNT1 (VALUE 1), with each additional key press you can alternate between CNT2 and CNT1. Example: Select preset 1 without DRIVE function on the BEHRINGER V-AMP—each time you press the same button again, DRIVE will be switched on or off respectively: PROG CHG 1 = 1, CNT 1 NUMBER = 26, VALUE 1 = 0, CNT 2 NUMBER = 26, VALUE 1 = 127."

source: http://www.behringer.com/assets/FCB1010_P0089_M_EN.pdf

Imma try this out and see what happens


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Definitive Guide to Programming the FCB1010 for Live
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:46 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:39 am
Posts: 3
AlexPlaysKeytar wrote:
AlexPlaysKeytar wrote:
1. Using Clarity's tutorial, the switches won't toggle an effect on and off, just turn on if set to 127 and off if set to 0. Should I just use notes for the switches instead of CCs?


I THINK I GOT IT. This was in the manual.

"2.5 Controller toggle function

This function allows you to configure one controller so that it alternately sends two different values, e.g. effect bypass, drive on/off, etc.

In order to enable the controller switch-over function, you need to globally select the same MIDI channel for CNT1 and CNT2 (see chapter 2.2), and enter the same controller number for CNT1 and CNT2 in the preset (NUMBER, see chapter 2.4.4).

The first time you recall the preset, it will send the controller value of CNT1 (VALUE 1), with each additional key press you can alternate between CNT2 and CNT1. Example: Select preset 1 without DRIVE function on the BEHRINGER V-AMP—each time you press the same button again, DRIVE will be switched on or off respectively: PROG CHG 1 = 1, CNT 1 NUMBER = 26, VALUE 1 = 0, CNT 2 NUMBER = 26, VALUE 1 = 127."

source: http://www.behringer.com/assets/FCB1010_P0089_M_EN.pdf

Imma try this out and see what happens


GOOD NEWS:
THIS WORKS for toggling effects, tracks and instruments on and off.


Bad News:
You have to double-tap if you assigned it to arm a track. Also, this does not work for the loop button. It acts all glitchy, record button won't work all the time, only records for a few seconds before turning off.

Imma keep working on this and work on calibrating the Pedals A and B. I'm just working off the manual and experimenting.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group