meter change in session view?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

meter change in session view?

Post by laurentius » Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:21 pm

hi, is it possible to not only change the tempo for each scene, but also the meter (for rhythm changes like from 4/4 to 3/4)????
if not i am copletely lost...

electrik noize
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 11:44 pm

Re: meter change in session view?

Post by electrik noize » Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:27 am

laurentius wrote:hi, is it possible to not only change the tempo for each scene, but also the meter (for rhythm changes like from 4/4 to 3/4)????
if not i am copletely lost...
afaik it is not possible. i (along with quite a few other folks on this forum) have requested this many times.

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:29 am

too bad! why there are so few people interested in the issue of time signature? everything these days must be 4/4 and changeless...
thnx anyway,
lars.

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:23 am

You can change it on a per clip basis. So as long as you have only 3/4 clips in your scene - you're good to go!

-M

ps. You could check out my entry in the November Co:LAB for an example. Go to http://colab.lofimassahkah.net/contrib.htm

Tarekith
Posts: 17671
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:35 pm

Yeah, i change it in my clips, and it sounds fine. Of course your bars and beats timer is all off then, but it sounds fine, and that's the important bit.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:52 pm

sounds still like an incomplete solution. i need the bars and all that for creating a better overview and click tracks for my drummer...[/quote]

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Tue Jan 09, 2007 2:07 pm

laurentius wrote:sounds still like an incomplete solution. i need the bars and all that for creating a better overview and click tracks for my drummer...
But you were talking about session view, right? The "bars and all that" show correctly in the clip.

You could make a clip (with kick and hats?) for metronome instead of the annoying beep. :wink:

-M

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:14 pm

absolutely inconvenient!! i mean, think about all those issues with global quantization. i have to trigger following sequences in time, but after one odd meter live would be out of phase with my clips. this way the whoöe triggering thing won't work no more.
i am heavily disappointed by this and it is a reason why i can't use it "live" on stage at the moment.

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:21 am

laurentius wrote:absolutely inconvenient!! i mean, think about all those issues with global quantization. i have to trigger following sequences in time, but after one odd meter live would be out of phase with my clips. this way the whoöe triggering thing won't work no more.
i am heavily disappointed by this and it is a reason why i can't use it "live" on stage at the moment.
OK. You see obstacles where I see solutions. If you can't use it - you can't use it. Sorry that I couldn't be of any help.

-M

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:14 am

hey thanks anyway for your support. was just pissed of by al, not your reply ;-)

Post Reply