Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
TroyP
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:50 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by TroyP » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:59 pm

madlab wrote:You can simply drop your audio drums file on the groove pool, then apply the groove that was extracted to the other clips in Live, audio and midi.
Is this true in Live 7, too? I thought Groove Pool was new in Live 8.

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by geo » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:04 pm

madlab wrote:Use the SAGE converter to make any audio file usable in Stylus RMX.
It has to be a REX file, I think...

arafel
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by arafel » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:43 pm

Geo - Ya it has to be a Rex..

I am just praying that Ableton & Spectrasonics get together to eliminate the need for Recycle (the only prog to save REX that I know of - pita).
IMHO - Recycle needs a major update - I only keep it around to be able to import my own stuff into RMX..

I would love to 'Sage Convert' loops right from an Ableton format.
Its a long shot, I know..
Sry - off topic. But..

I am loving "edit info text" from the Right-Click menu
Being able to have notes on any instrument & clip is a life-saver.
Really helps to keep track to what you where trying to accomplish in song sections.
2.8ghz Quad PowerMac, Fa-66 using optical link, Live 9.72, Remote25, Maschine, Samson 65a.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by 3dot... » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:06 am

arafel wrote: I would love to 'Sage Convert' loops right from an Ableton format.
Its a long shot, I know..
Sry - off topic. But..
...if I remember correctly..
it's pretty easy setting that up...
could be wrong.. long time since I used stylusRMX..
Image

rory
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by rory » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:23 pm

Here's something I just started doing, even though I knew the feature was there ages ago... duh.

Don't go hunting around different directory structures in your browser to find your plugins, open up the search tab at the top and type a few letters from the name, it's way quicker. The search tab will stay open for the rest of your session so you don't even have to reopen it next time you come to look for a plug.

Added bonus is that if you have any favourite AU Presets from your favourite plugins, they can be searched too.

ReasonliveUSER
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 8:34 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by ReasonliveUSER » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:10 am

making a shortcut command for edit info text(or for any menu command) I just learned about this OSX feature. while in mid session I was so pissed about there not being a shortcut command for this that I stop what I was doing and was about to go to the feature wish list suggestion section and ask for this and something inside me told me search on the forum 1st bcuz there are some many smart users here. I figured I'll post the link here to share with you guys rather than bump a year old thread. thank you ableton user Hoffman2k!!!! http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... +short+cut
http://therightbros.blogspot.com
Computer: 2.16Ghz Intel core 2 Duo 17''Imac w/ 500gb internal HD 3gigs of ram on Snow Leopard
Software: Ableton Live 8 Suite & Propellerhead Reason 5
Storage: 5x OWC Mercury Elite 1TB HD
M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

Tone Deft
Posts: 23738
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:20 am

when a control has a red dot on it, right click 'delete automation' deletes the f-ing automation.

just found that. :evil:
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, guitars, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by 3dot... » Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:26 am

^^^ you can also enter straight to a parameters automation/modulation envelope using that...

other handy context menu items I use all the time:

right click on track header (both in sess/arr) you can choose : 'select track contents'...
very handy for clearing/disabling/moving/modifying clips on a certain track

right click on the 'device overview' (bottom-right) gives a menu with all parameters...
very handy for device chains you need to scroll...
you can jump straight to the desired param...

right-click on metronome gives you an option to choose rec. count-in time..
Last edited by 3dot... on Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by geo » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:19 am

3dot... wrote: right click on track header (both in sess/arr) you can choose : 'select track contents'...
very handy for clearing/disabling/moving/modifying clips on a certain track
Excellent, didn't know that!
3dot... wrote: right click on the 'device overview' (bottom-left) gives a menu with all parameters...
You mean the "Track View Selector", bottom right...

The Phat Conductor
Posts: 1768
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:30 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by The Phat Conductor » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:23 pm

FF1 mode on the compressor doesn't click when you sidechain it.
ill gates aka the phat conductor
producer, performer + ableton/music teacher

http://www.illgates.com

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by 3dot... » Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:10 pm

geo wrote:
3dot... wrote: right click on the 'device overview' (bottom-left) gives a menu with all parameters...
You mean the "Track View Selector", bottom right...
yep... t'was too early in the morning for fine details.. :lol:
Image

nylarch
Posts: 510
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: brooklyn

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by nylarch » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:36 pm

thanks for that one, well handy
i often resample stuff and have a hard-ish time finding the numbered file of the resample
this takes me straight to the resampled audio, click... show in explorer and i can then drag that file into soundforge for chopping up and re-editing
I also do a lot of resampling - lots of cropping out phrases then Control-J'ing them into new files. I often get a lot of file.1, file.2, file.3 versions, etc.

One thing I like about logic is the ability to go into the audio bin and select and delete every temp file that hasn't ended up being used in the project (can't remember the command off the top of my head). Is there a similar way to do this in Live? Would be nice - helps keep project sizes manageable.
MacBook Pro; Live 8 Suite, Reaktor; '77 Fender Jazz Bass; Apogee One;

bendybones
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:43 am
Location: Galway, Ireland

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by bendybones » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:25 pm

nylarch wrote:One thing I like about logic is the ability to go into the audio bin and select and delete every temp file that hasn't ended up being used in the project (can't remember the command off the top of my head). Is there a similar way to do this in Live?
browse to project folder in Live's browser.
right click it and select 'Manage Project'
In the pop up browser on right hand side see 'Unused Files' section

you can also
go File> ManageFiles >
from within a set residing in the project u wish to manage (eg remove unused samples from)
MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS X 10.5.8, Live 8 Suite, Logic Studio 9, Ultralite Mk3

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by 3dot... » Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:37 pm

.. always name the channel before recording into it...
it'll make your sets and file-names easier to comprehend
:mrgreen:
Image

nylarch
Posts: 510
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: brooklyn

Re: Stuff in Live you wish you figured out a long time ago

Post by nylarch » Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:06 pm

browse to project folder in Live's browser.
right click it and select 'Manage Project'
In the pop up browser on right hand side see 'Unused Files' section

you can also
go File> ManageFiles >
from within a set residing in the project u wish to manage (eg remove unused samples from)
thanks!
MacBook Pro; Live 8 Suite, Reaktor; '77 Fender Jazz Bass; Apogee One;

Post Reply