my plugin folder gets rescanned every time Live boots up

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

my plugin folder gets rescanned every time Live boots up

Post by geo » Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:36 am

I have created shortcuts to my vst plugins so that I can organise them better in folders (eg. reverbs, delays, etc)and set Live to "look" inside those folders. Whenever I load up Live it always rescans them instead of remembering the last state where they had been rescaned and it takes ages for Live to load. It's quite annoying. Why is it doing that, anyone had a similar problem? I am using Live 6.0.3

emptypond
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:52 pm

Post by emptypond » Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:54 am

thanks for the great tip, or was it a trick? :lol:

strange.. it only used to scan everytime in v5 for me. now with v6 it doesnt
Last edited by emptypond on Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:14 am

it was the "&" part

it scans for plugins everytime you load.

if you have a massive list of plugins i can understand it being a pain

dancerchris
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:48 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Post by dancerchris » Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:07 pm

I have done something similar. I have made a separate folder in the Ableton directory where I place shortcuts to all my VSTs in a separate VST Plugin folder. This way I can (as you say) organize my VSTs in a folder hierarchy that makes for good work flow.

When I load L6 it scans the declared VST directory (via the shortcuts) for new ones. It is slow (I have ~70 plugins) only when there is a change. Otherwise the scan takes 1-2 secs. Admittedly I have a fast machine.
Live 8.4.2 / Win 8 Pro 64 bit / Core 2 Quad 2.66 GHZ / 8 Gb ram
Presonus Firepod / Axiom 49 / PadKontrol
Various guitars, keyboards, sax and friends

Post Reply