Ableton 6 & Axiom 25: How do I use preset 17?

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
bevers

Ableton 6 & Axiom 25: How do I use preset 17?

Post by bevers » Tue May 01, 2007 12:21 am

Well, I've looked through the sparse information that came with my Axiom 25, and also looked in the online manual for Ableton 6, but I can't find anything on how to set Ableton (or is the Axiom?) to preset 17. Does this "preset 17" thing happen automagically? What am I missing?

I'm a high-school teacher, and I'm just trying to give the kids (and ok, the teacher too) something to bang on. Ideally, the pads on the Axiom would make drum noises, and the keyboard would make keyboard sounds, and the 8 knobs would change various parameters.

I apologize for such a basic question, but I just can't seem to find any coherent documentation on how to make this happen.

Any tutorial website or other extremely basic sites would be most welcome. I'm not a musician, I'm a computer guy, so this is all new to me.

Thanks in advance for your help!

flipvert

Post by flipvert » Tue May 01, 2007 7:45 am

Hi...

Ok... well

First thing is to try using the ENIGMA software to set up a template of what things do what inside ableton with your keyboard.

CTRL + M opens MIDI learn so you can have the parameters open in a VST (in the bottom right of the screen turn the dial you want to automate with the keyboard. and you wil lsee the relevant slider move in the bottom right. use CTRL + M and then click on the paramter that was moving in the bottom right (it highlights) then turn the KNOB you want to use, then press CTRL + M again.... now when you turn that KNOB it will move the paramter.

You may be able to do this with various VSTs, for example DRUM SAMPLER (Battery / Impulse) on MIDI channel 1 use the above CTRL + M method to set the pads to trigger KIK DRUM ... SNARE DRUM ... HI HATS etc...