Recording the click to a track...

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
carmstrong1959
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:58 pm
Location: Southern California

Recording the click to a track...

Post by carmstrong1959 » Sat May 05, 2007 11:09 pm

Hello,

What's the best way to record the click to a track in LIVE 6? I need it for one of my musicians to practice a tricky part to and I want to make them an mp3 of the tune with the click track audible.

Thanks,

Chris

thekillingtree
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:04 am
Location: nyc.

Post by thekillingtree » Sun May 06, 2007 12:46 am

you could buy a metronome for like $5 usd and plug a cable to the headphone jack and plug the other end into your computer. now there is room for user error, but you should get the hang of it.

unless there is a way to do it in live...i personally do not know.

carmstrong1959
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:58 pm
Location: Southern California

Post by carmstrong1959 » Sun May 06, 2007 1:42 am

Thanks, but I'd like to use the click that's already there and synced with the music. I did try just recording a track of me playing a bell along with the click for a few beats and then making that into a loop. That worked OK, but I'd like to just be able to use the internal click if there's a way to do that.

Chris

derders
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:21 am

Post by derders » Sun May 06, 2007 1:57 pm

Hi,

hmm I know it from Samplitude that the Metronom Clicks are .wav files in the Main Folder...

but don´t know where the .wav/.aif of Live are ....

when you just want a metronom click as sample

download the samplitude demo version and use the sample in Live
or make one - with operator or another instrument

pabloaugustus
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: humboldt county, ca

Re: Recording the click to a track...

Post by pabloaugustus » Thu May 10, 2007 11:12 am

carmstrong1959 wrote:Hello,

What's the best way to record the click to a track in LIVE 6? I need it for one of my musicians to practice a tricky part to and I want to make them an mp3 of the tune with the click track audible.

Thanks,

Chris
why not just lay down some quarter/eighth notes whatever you want with a sound you like with impulse and record that?
Thinkpad 2.0GHz, 2GigsRam, MOTU Traveler, Live 6.05, BFD, Triton Extreme w/Moss, PC2R, K2000

xxxmorphicxxx
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 9:21 pm

Post by xxxmorphicxxx » Thu May 10, 2007 9:18 pm

I agree. Impulse would be the best way IMO. I have used an external drum machine for the click before, and it worked... but it was a pain in the ass.

In retrospect, I would just make an Impulse, and either do straight 1/4 note high hats or kicks on 1 and 3 and snares on 2 and 4. render that and use it over and over.

stringtapper
Posts: 6271
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Post by stringtapper » Fri May 11, 2007 2:05 am

Just drop the Metronome.wav and MetronomeUp.wav files into an Impulse and draw some quarter notes in. Simple.
Unsound Designer

Post Reply