bus tracks, group tracks and folder tracks

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
PAUH
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:24 pm

bus tracks, group tracks and folder tracks

Post by PAUH » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:40 pm

How do I create these within live

RhythmSickness
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:02 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by RhythmSickness » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:47 pm

You wait for the version that has them in to be released.
G5, G4x2 / G3 Live 3/4/5/6 Reason 2/2.5/3 virb soundclick

PAUH
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:24 pm

Post by PAUH » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:01 pm

seriously

isnt that a bit shit

I have converted over from cubase with out knowing this
Does anybody know weather this will be out in the next version

RhythmSickness
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:02 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by RhythmSickness » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:06 pm

no offense, but didnt you think to like, you know, read the manual, before you decided to buy it? check out its features? did you try the demo at all?
Some of what you want can be achieved through sends, and through reading the manual, but hey you seem like really busy.
G5, G4x2 / G3 Live 3/4/5/6 Reason 2/2.5/3 virb soundclick

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:37 pm

Creating busses is easy

no folder tracks

Jonny Pancake
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:42 pm

Post by Jonny Pancake » Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:35 pm

longjohns wrote:Creating busses is easy

no folder tracks
i have they add track folders in the next release, its a shame its not already build in.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Post by Khazul » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:08 pm

You can create bus tracks real easy.

Whats missing is track grouping or folder track and the abililty to show/hide tracks.

What I would really like to be able to do is hide all the tracks that I dont actually need to mess with (and so they dont go in the auto map either...), so I only have say 8 or so tracks and not 30+.

PAUH
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:24 pm

Post by PAUH » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:44 pm

[quote="Khazul"]You can create bus tracks real easy.

.

quote]

Any chance you could explain
cheers in advance

laird
Posts: 1996
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: PDX
Contact:

Post by laird » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:55 pm

Create new Send track
is right next to Create new Audio Track and Create new MIDI track.

You can hide the Send Tracks by clicking the little "S" icon down in the lower right of screen... so if you don't already see Send A and Send B (just above the Main mix in arrange view, or just to the left of the main mix in session view) then click this S icon now.

If you didn't mess with your preferences, every new Live file you create should have two Sends to begin with.

And if they aren't hidden, every track should have a Send A amount and a Send B amount.

Is that the type of bus track you wanted, a send/return type?



Otherwsie, you can do this:
Create a new audio track, name it BUS1
On the 2 or more other audio tracks you want bussed together, change their audio output from "main out" to "trackXXX BUS1".
All of those tracks will now send their audio to Track #XX "Bus1". You can add effects and EQ to this track as needed, and it is then sent to "main out"

PAUH
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:24 pm

Post by PAUH » Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:22 pm

2nd option
quality laird
thank you very much
much appreciated

Post Reply