syncing Live to cdj's

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
the spirograph crew
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:47 am
Location: manchester, uk

syncing Live to cdj's

Post by the spirograph crew » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:07 pm

any way of syncing Live to a pair of cdj's?

cheers.
A PIECE OF SHIT HAS A THOUSAND EYES.

Digimak
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:29 am

Post by Digimak » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:14 pm

I have a friend in the industry who said you can do this but i'm unaware how.

From what I can remember its not a difficult thing to do but he did mention using the digital outs on the CDJ and pluggin them into the digital ins on my Firewire 410.

I'm currently DJ with a friend who uses CDJ's and I use Ableton, so would find this very useful to know!!!

the spirograph crew
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:47 am
Location: manchester, uk

Post by the spirograph crew » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:20 pm

cheers for the reply.

yeah im trying to fit ableton into my mates cd set up and would be cool if we could mix between the two.

im using a Edirol UA25 sound card not sure what mixer he's using.
A PIECE OF SHIT HAS A THOUSAND EYES.

Digimak
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:29 am

Post by Digimak » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:54 pm

Have spend all day looking online on different forums including Pioneer etc.
Can't find anything apart from when users have DJM800 or 1000.

I'm 99% sure this can be done, can anyone help
iBook G4 - Ableton Live 5 - Novation ZeRO SL - M-Audio Firewire 410 - Beyer Dynamic DT250

dCross
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Ableton NY
Contact:

Post by dCross » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:58 pm

Digimak wrote:Have spend all day looking online on different forums including Pioneer etc.
Can't find anything apart from when users have DJM800 or 1000.

I'm 99% sure this can be done, can anyone help
You can map a MIDI slider to Live's tempo, essentially giving it a pitch slider like any other piece of DJ gear.

You need to go into MIDI map mode and click the BPM indicator at the top left, and assign it to a slider. You can then assign the range of that slider to behave more like a traditional deck, changing the values and even mapping them in reverse.

This isn't automatic synchronization a la: the DJM800, the Xone 2D/3D or the RedSound Microbite, but if you know how to DJ, you can sync Live to your gear.

The upcoming Live 7 has some new features that make this even easier.
David Cross
Public Media Coordinator
Ableton Inc. (NYC)

cross@ableton.com

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:59 pm

forget trying to sync it - get live 7 it has nudge buttons so you can mix it in like you would a CDJ or record

rounder
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 1:15 pm
Location: 020 - the netherlands

Post by rounder » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:39 pm

have a look at how james zabiela does it... pretty easy stuff really.

http://www.djsounds.com/02/19/james-zab ... op-mixing/

DJ Yoi!
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:21 pm

Re: syncing Live to cdj's

Post by DJ Yoi! » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:22 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXTiNU6RqOo

This background program syncs Pioneer CDJs with Ableton Live or any other software what understands MIDI beat clock.
The CDJ_Clock listens to the Ethernet UDP protocol between the CDJs, calculates and sends out via USB an MIDI beat clock. The CDJ_Clock can be controlled with any MIDI controller. The synchronisation can be started exact to the next beat and sends out an MIDI continue signal. On the top left my MIDI-Clock box is viewing the beats and is used as a MIDI controller.

Post Reply