Mix sounds MUDDY on my car stereo

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
UnCL0NED

Mix sounds MUDDY on my car stereo

Post by UnCL0NED » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:39 am

I thought my mix sounded quite balanced on my KRK V6's in my room. But when I just played it over my car stereo this morning, it just sounded soooo muddy! The Bass and Kick had almost no definition and the low sounds of this sort of gong I used were hardly audible. Also the melodyline of the piano I used, sat pretty well in the song at home, but sounded far away and too soft on my car stereo.

My question is: now that I know this, how do I proceed to make it both sound good/reasonable on my home stereo as well as in my car? There's probably some more mixing/tweaking to do, but how do I know when it is okay, when I'm only monitoring on my KRK's. Are there maybe some general tricks to fix this (in Live)?

Yes, I am new to the game of mixing so maybe I'm asking a very silly question here!
:oops:
Thanks for your help!

cram33

Post by cram33 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:56 am

Hi,

What you did is good! Go take your mix out, play it on as many stereo's as you can, even on clockradio-like shit, and judge your mix from there on. If it sounds fine in your room, but too bassy elsewhere, you need to compensate for that in your mix at home i.e. less bass in this example. Maybe your room needs some accoustic treatment. And final, listen to commercial cd's of the same genre you are mixing, in your studio to hear how they sound. Should be a good starting point. Good luck!
Xxodd laptop
*Core2duo T7700 2,4 GHz
*2 Gb DDR2
*120Gb SATA HD 7200 rpm
BCF/BCR-2000
Korg MS2000R
Korg PadKontrol
Focusrite Liquid Mix
Vitalizer Stereo MK2
Korg Kaoss Pad
Motu 828 MKII USB

popoff

Post by popoff » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:25 am

#2 listen to the music @ Your monitors as much as possible - to know its sound better. Especially listen to the releases which sound You wish to achieve.