slice to midi custom presets?

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
friend_kami
Posts: 2264
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

slice to midi custom presets?

Post by friend_kami » Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:07 pm

so yeah. how exactly do you make your own slice to midi presets?
ive tried making racks, saving them in the defaults/slicing directory, but i still just get the first default (builtin) preset selected.

tried both audio effects and midi effects, also tried taking one of the presets, modifying them and saving as a new one, and it didnt work either.

perhaps its just me eh.

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:09 pm

Amaury wrote:
[3] Custom Slicing presets: Create an empty Drum Rack, create on chain with an empty Simpler/Sampler, with no sample, add MIDI devices before it and audio devices after it if you wish, all with your preferred settings, macro map whatever suits your needs, and drag this whole Drum Rack to Library/Defaults/Slicing. Alternatively, you can save a single Sampler preset there, and that method will put all slices in one Sampler. Then, when involiking the "Slice to new MIDI track" command, you'll be offered to choose the slicing preset in the Slicing dialog.

friend_kami
Posts: 2264
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Post by friend_kami » Sun Apr 27, 2008 3:23 pm

longjohns wrote:
Amaury wrote:
[3] Custom Slicing presets: Create an empty Drum Rack, create on chain with an empty Simpler/Sampler, with no sample, add MIDI devices before it and audio devices after it if you wish, all with your preferred settings, macro map whatever suits your needs, and drag this whole Drum Rack to Library/Defaults/Slicing. Alternatively, you can save a single Sampler preset there, and that method will put all slices in one Sampler. Then, when involiking the "Slice to new MIDI track" command, you'll be offered to choose the slicing preset in the Slicing dialog.
yeah i know, i just found that aswell.
so yeah, its working. ;)

edit: too bad you cant place a midi rack infront of your instrument then, since that gives you one midi rack per instead of one midi rack that affects all slices. would be great for building extensive presets. ohwell ;)

Post Reply