Reaktor & Live

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
kraze
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:05 pm

Reaktor & Live

Post by kraze » Wed May 28, 2008 6:19 pm

Sure, there's been Reaktor related threads, but let's have an all out geek-discussion about it.

Who uses Reaktor with Live? How do you use it? Do you program your own ensembles or have you found any special little secret weapons in the user library? Have you found a way to safely use Reaktor in a live setting with Live? etc etc.

the spirograph crew
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:47 am
Location: manchester, uk

Post by the spirograph crew » Thu May 29, 2008 3:39 pm

How do,

i use Reaktor when DJing with Live, i use Beatlookup by Chris List for mashing up tracks, fun!
A PIECE OF SHIT HAS A THOUSAND EYES.

kraze
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:05 pm

Post by kraze » Thu May 29, 2008 4:56 pm

Yeah, that one's a classic.
I use BeatLookup 7.2 + Kaosspad for the scratch effect, i've tried using it with my ms pinky but i actually like the effect more when it's fueled by the kaosspad.

Let's keep this thread rolling.

If any Reaktor User hasn't tried MiniFreak yet, you're missing out, it made me sell my Arturia MiniMoog V within days.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Thu May 29, 2008 8:27 pm

kraze wrote: If any Reaktor User hasn't tried MiniFreak yet, you're missing out, it made me sell my Arturia MiniMoog V within days.
dude, please link that, the search doesn't find it.

I'd like to recommend Synth In A Case for most awesome classic. Great sounding synth.
S.I.A.C.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

moodyman
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:27 pm
Location: Berlin - F'hain

Post by moodyman » Thu May 29, 2008 9:15 pm

or do you mean fatcat?? that's a great emulation of the minimoog and has a great sound

kraze
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:05 pm

Post by kraze » Thu May 29, 2008 10:12 pm

Someone on here back in January (when it was brand new) talked about it and called it the MiniMood, but it's only the extended filter that's called that. I couldn't find it, but my friend, total reaktor geek, sended it to me and that version is called Mini-Freak5. I still can't find it on the library.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Fri May 30, 2008 5:08 pm

Forgot this one - really cool saturated analogue sound.

SOFA

Also, the "reaktor groovebox" peeps should try this one:

BoogleBeat 2
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

kraze
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:05 pm

Post by kraze » Fri May 30, 2008 7:04 pm

Oooh, the boogiebeat, love that one, i just finished up a pure techno song made by recycled reaktor loops coming from that as well as a few others. I actually used the SOFA for dirtying parts up too.

There's so much sweet stuff in Reaktor you'll never think of using. Anyone else uses the crow stuff?

ziggomatic
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:27 pm

Post by ziggomatic » Sat May 31, 2008 3:57 am

hi guys!

i never tried Reaktor exept the demo a few minutes and from what i read is that reaktor is THE tool to create unusual sounds (i'm into idm/ambient/breakish stuff).

i'm doing music with computer for 8 years and i'm using Live for about 4 years. I recently bought a new laptop wich is a Macbook 2.4Ghz 2GB ram.

do you think the computer can handle it well? and can someone explain me a bit the concept of it in simple words? cause some parts means nothing to me lol.

thanks alot! :D

dom
iMac 27" 2.7GHz quad core i5 Live 9 Suite, Apollo Twin Duo, Moog Sub 37, Push, APC40 and KRK RP6, iPad 2 running Animoog etc....,

kraze
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:05 pm

Post by kraze » Sat May 31, 2008 10:13 am

Hi.
That computer will be more than adequate. Reaktor can be a hog at times but that computer will allow you to push it a bit more than we're all used to.

If you're into idm/ambient/break stuff reaktor and a stable computer is really everything you'll ever need.

Reaktor is essentially a modular enviroment and there's alot of info about that, but with purchase you gain access to the Reaktor User Library and those are definently a good starting point if you just want to make music.

Synths, Effects, Samplers, Sequencers, Grooveboxes, anything that you could ever need to make sound is availibe with reaktor and alot of the User Ensembles are more inspirational than most commercial plugins.

Before the diehards slay me i'm going to add that while the user library is great to treat as your "big box of junk", it's main purpose is to make you realise how you put together your own ensembles.

So buy it, download the hottest user ensembles and realise that Reaktor opens doors to anything you'll ever need-

the0verclock
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:45 pm
Location: BOS - PVD - NYC
Contact:

Post by the0verclock » Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:31 pm

My favorite trick when combining Live and Reaktor -

Use a Reaktor Surround plug in the master bus, then route your tracks to one of those 6 inputs, allowing for massive sidechaining, dove-tail filtering etc... within Reaktor. SO fun. I love it so much I do all my live mixing, crossfading, muting, everything in Reaktor.

- b

nepotist
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:07 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by nepotist » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:48 pm

the0verclock wrote:My favorite trick when combining Live and Reaktor -

Use a Reaktor Surround plug in the master bus, then route your tracks to one of those 6 inputs, allowing for massive sidechaining, dove-tail filtering etc... within Reaktor. SO fun. I love it so much I do all my live mixing, crossfading, muting, everything in Reaktor.

- b
Reaktor blows me away, I find it awesome for making all sorts of sounds. I'm a bit new to it though, would you mind explaining how you did the above? I'm not sure what the Surround plug is but that sounds cool.
The Sales Department
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
BANDCAMP Download "Airlock" free-10 songs recorded in 10 Days

the0verclock
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:45 pm
Location: BOS - PVD - NYC
Contact:

Post by the0verclock » Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

when looking at your vst's, there should be several reaktors available. Reaktor5, Reaktor5 Surround, Reaktor5 FX, and another cool one - Reaktor5 2x8.

If you drop the Surround version on the master bus or any return, you now have 6 inputs available for that bus. When I perform stuff like this -

http://youtube.com/watch?v=0AKitRcmO4I

(forgive the OLDness of that clip)

I send my 6 tracks (drums A, tv theme A, drums B, tv theme B, special FX track, live guitar input) to the 6 inputs on reaktor and do the mixing, looping, crossfading, etc.. all within the reaktor patch. does that make more sense?

- b

nepotist
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:07 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by nepotist » Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:21 pm

actually I only have Reaktor5 and Reaktor5 FX...that's weird. Other than that it makes sense in theory...any idea why I wouldn't have the extra VSTs? I really want to try this though!
The Sales Department
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
BANDCAMP Download "Airlock" free-10 songs recorded in 10 Days

the0verclock
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:45 pm
Location: BOS - PVD - NYC
Contact:

Post by the0verclock » Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:46 pm

are you using only the audio unit versions?
the other options are only available as VST, i believe. In general I have better experience with the VST versions of NI plugs in Live.
Last edited by the0verclock on Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply