Free audio sample librarian/organizer/auditioner for Windows

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
a1studmuffin

Free audio sample librarian/organizer/auditioner for Windows

Post by a1studmuffin » Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:56 am

Hey all... for those that don't know, I'm a programmer as well as a DJ/producer. One of the free tools I've written is here: http://auralprobe.sourceforge.net

I've just added a new version so thought it might be worth sharing. Full release notes in the thread below. Enjoy!
Aural Probe is a sample librarian tool for computer musicians/audio engineers. Automatically and non-destructively index your disorganised sample collection from a list of folders into categories (kick, snare, hihats etc.) based on folder/filename wildcard matches. Easily audition samples, load/save favourites, and drag-and-drop straight into your sequencer.
Last edited by a1studmuffin on Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
Butter Party: Beatport | Soundcloud | Mixcloud

a1studmuffin

Post by a1studmuffin » Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:20 am

I should add, this app was pretty much designed to be used in conjunction with Ableton Live + Impulse. Just reduce the window size and stick it on "always on top" mode, browse through the samples, then drag them onto the Impulse pads. Far more efficient than Live's built in browser and you'll never have to sort your samples into categories ever again.

Soma

Post by Soma » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:50 pm

I haven't used your app yet and perhaps what I'm about to request is way out of scope of what you have planned but...

I have always drempt of a librabry manager, that can sort samples based on "like content" for instance, regardless of file name the manager would find all kicks based on frequency content, length and dynamic pattern, just like the human brain does.
The program could then let you select samples to apply a meta tag to and you could seach by meta tags for samples later

Nod