The dreaded space bar!

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
See90
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:15 pm

The dreaded space bar!

Post by See90 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:02 am

Hey there

I was wondering if it's possible to set Ableton so that it doesn't stop playback when you press space bar, or gives you the option to cancel.

Thanks!

Eklektric
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:18 pm

Post by Eklektric » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:24 pm

yeah I was wondering that too :)

4.33
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Moscow

Post by 4.33 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:52 pm

yes, user ilia has posted a script which disables the spacebar
look it up

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:28 pm

easy way is to use the EXT button

nowadays, you need to have a device enabled for sync, or it will disappear.

but if the ext button is on, the space bar won't work..

djamp42
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:48 pm
Contact:

Post by djamp42 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:17 pm

I have a program called "Space Bar Blocker" It's just a small program that runs in the background and disables the space bar..

Search this form, and abletonlivedj.com for the link.. I found it on either or.

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:51 pm

alternatively, gently pop it off with a screwdriver / knife / anything narrow.
Or have a spare usb keyboard for gigs which has the spacebar removed in this way.
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

EARLGREY
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:04 pm

Post by EARLGREY » Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:23 pm

search : blockspace

great little tool !

rgrds

a1studmuffin
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:46 pm
Contact:

Post by a1studmuffin » Thu Jul 17, 2008 4:27 am

misteron wrote:alternatively, gently pop it off with a screwdriver / knife / anything narrow.
Hahahahaha, that's a bit of a brute force solution there. :) It's called software for a reason. :D

Reminds me of NASA discovering bugs in their space shuttle software, and "fixing" them by simply ordering the astronauts to "never, under any circumstances, press button X at the same time as button Y". :D
Butter Party: Beatport | Soundcloud | Mixcloud

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:18 am

a1studmuffin wrote: NASA discovering bugs in their space shuttle software, and "fixing" them by simply ordering the astronauts to "never, under any circumstances, press button X at the same time as button Y". :D
Classic!
:D
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

Tarekith
Posts: 17430
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:30 pm

Haven't we been asking for this since version 1?

friend_kami
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm

Post by friend_kami » Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:38 pm

Tarekith wrote:Haven't we been asking for this since version 1?
while were at it, who in the hell told live that it should no matter what the circumstance always map f1-f9 to track mutes and record.

no.
thank.
you.

just give us custom keyboard shortcuts already, damn you.

Clearscreen
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:07 am
Location: Melbourne AU
Contact:

Post by Clearscreen » Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:45 pm

theres a working link to MrYellow's great blockspace program about half way down this post:
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... c&start=15

thanks also to zstowasser for still hosting it as well :D
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

Post Reply