Trying to understand punching in and out

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
Simbosan

Trying to understand punching in and out

Post by Simbosan » Sun Aug 10, 2008 3:57 am

Sorry for the noob question, but I'm new to Ableton and having a lot of problems getting my head round what 'punch in/out' means in the Ableton world. Probably being a rock dinosaur doesn't help as I think in tape recording modes, ho hum! And yeah, for this track, I am using Live as a straight DAW for various reasons.

Anyway, I cannot see how to punch in/out of a clip or a track. I have a bass track (not a loop) that needs fixing up in a couple of minor spots, but I don't want to re-record the whole thing. You know the situation =) So instead I spend hours bashin my head against Ableton... cos thats like easier ya know!

My first mistake was using Session view, so I am now in arrangement view. The punch in/out lights are on. I have the initially recorded guitar track armed. Arm record on the transport and hit play button and it all looks good, the guitar track is greyed out till the punch in point is reached, but .... no recording takes place.

I have a sneaking suspicion that you can only punch in/out on a brand new track? Is that correct? And then I have to either set my arrangement to switch to that clip and back? Or should I merge the two audio into a 3rd one?

That sounds very complicated way to nuke a bum note, there's gotta be an easier way....

Thanks in advance for any help, I have done my dues as far as searching for an answer, and the help file devotes like 2 sentences to the whole process of punching in and out... I think it's a mindset shift problem.

Cheers

S

clipless

Post by clipless » Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:05 am

As you describe it I got to say the setup is correct, it's weird you cannot record a section...
You can punch in at anytime in the process of tracking not just in a brand new track.