CC "transpose"

Share your Ableton Live secrets here
Post Reply
Veiss
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:15 am

CC "transpose"

Post by Veiss » Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:32 am

Hi, im wondering if there is a way to transpose incoming cc's and send them out to an external device as another CC. For instance i have a midi device all set up the way i want it, and i want to use different cc's for something else. Can it be done IN live?

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Post by 8O » Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:37 am

Hmmm.... not that I know of, no.
Image

Patch
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Post by Patch » Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:13 am

I don't really understand what it is you're tring to do - but it most likely can be done with some routing and Live midi devices/effects...

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Post by oddstep » Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:06 pm

No I don't think it is possible to remap/translate ccs in live. Isn't MIDIOX/midiyoke intended for this sort of operation. I've not used midiOX myself.

Veiss
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:15 am

Post by Veiss » Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:09 pm

^I'm trying to translate incoming cc's from a preconfigured device into other CC's that another external device (Mbase) will accept without changing the CC's on the sending device.

Yea, I'm thinking the only way to do it is with midiox/midipipe.

Exie
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:58 am

Post by Exie » Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:49 am

There are a bunch of VST utilities to do that.
The one I can remember is GuruOne GOMP. Actually, there are many (browse http://www.midiplugins.com/), but beware of MIDI VSTs which have midi out and don't have audio out. Live doesn't work with them. You will need VST subhost like EnergyXT to deal with them. For example, there are many useful things on http://asseca.com/nicfit/ (BTW it doesn't necessary to use exactly EnergyXT with them, they simply match its GUI)

Post Reply