iPad

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:00 pm

Shit.

You can’t even get an iPad to connect reliably to a DAW for an extended period of time when you’re 2 feet away from the computer.

Does anybody honestly believe we’re ready for anything and everything to be cloud based?

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:02 pm

I'm not for the cloud. I'm just sayin... :x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:04 pm

ChiDJSynchro wrote:
LoopStationZebra wrote:
LoopStationZebra wrote:Hmm. When U-verse gets mentioned it leads me to believe it's no one from Europe because I don't think that service name means anything there; and it's not like U-verse is a worldwide household name like Apple or Ableton.

Or it could be somebody from Europe because they pretty much all spend at least 35% of their day obsessing about all things U.S.A.

:P
^ Did you just really quote yourself?
No. :x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:52 pm

EARLY RELEASE. GARAGEBAND FOR IPAD NOW AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE.

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:15 pm

^ No MIDI. At all. :x

Still. Buying now. Because that fucking Hammond Organ sound is KILLER.
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:31 pm

LoopStationZebra wrote:^ No MIDI. At all. :x

Still. Buying now. Because that fucking Hammond Organ sound is KILLER.

Get your head out of the MIDI for a mo. You CAN transfer iPad Grarageband sets into the Mac version of Garageband. I'm curious to see how that works. Can you tranfer back and forth freely or is it only 1 way?

I really didn't need to add another thing to my "I'll get to it later" pile. So I'm relying on you for the full report.

steko
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: iPad

Post by steko » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:41 pm

Songs created in GarageBand for iPad can not be opened in GarageBand for Mac. Projects created in GarageBand for Mac cannot be opened in GarageBand for iPad.

A future update of GarageBand for Mac will open songs created in GarageBand for iPad.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4574
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

squelcht
Posts: 1896
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:38 am
Location: QC, NC
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by squelcht » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:54 pm

AHEM Loops ---> http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/korg-iel ... 14043?mt=8

"What's New in Version 1.2.0 - iELECTRIBE can now be played using external USB-MIDI devices"

I don't have a iPad or the software to confirm this but I'm sure you'll report back to us :wink:

Oh looks like there is a iMS-20 update too: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/korg-ims ... 42966?mt=8
But nothing mentioned about MIDI stability :?

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:13 am

squelcht wrote:AHEM Loops ---> http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/korg-iel ... 14043?mt=8

"What's New in Version 1.2.0 - iELECTRIBE can now be played using external USB-MIDI devices"

I don't have a iPad or the software to confirm this but I'm sure you'll report back to us :wink:

Oh looks like there is a iMS-20 update too: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/korg-ims ... 42966?mt=8
But nothing mentioned about MIDI stability :?

I know! HOT. I posted that over in General. Gotta test it.
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Fri Mar 11, 2011 12:50 am

steko wrote:
Songs created in GarageBand for iPad can not be opened in GarageBand for Mac. Projects created in GarageBand for Mac cannot be opened in GarageBand for iPad.

A future update of GarageBand for Mac will open songs created in GarageBand for iPad.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4574
:x

I guess when they said at the keynote "you will be able to" I heard that, like any sane person would, that you will be able to when you purchase. I guess they meant it as "at a later date." :x

I'm downloading now.

Also looks like a new feature of the new itunes is if there are any app update available when you start it up itunes will automatically download them right away like it does with podcasts. Before you would have to manually go in and tell it to search for and download updates. In fact this new version is so on top of things that I bought Garageband on my iPad directly and when I fired up itunes on my computer 30 seconds later it automatically started downloading Garageband too. :)

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:00 pm

Today is the Day

:x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:38 pm

LSZ!!!! We have a situation here. I don’t really want (or need for that matter) the iPad 2 BUT I’m coming into some money I wasn’t expecting that could easily pay for one. On one hand I should go for it because if it is money I wasn’t expecting then it could be considered zero loss/iPad 2 gain. On the other hand I should learn to be an adult and save some money or I am going to be homeless by the time I hit retirement age. I do save money but probably not a enough. :x

But also as an added guilt/cost reduction incentive if I go for it I’m contemplating selling my iPad 1 to a friend or family member for cheap. My mom has already raised her hand and said “Me! Right here! Hello?!? Me!”.

But still.

It’s also a minor crime I only have a 42” flat screen TV in my bedroom instead of a 55”….and it’s only 720p too. :x Then I could donate the 42” to our cabin because nothing says “roughing it” in the state of CA like being in the middle nowhere with a 42” 720p flat screen.

This is why I’m angry all the time on here. I have serious life problems. SERIOUS BUSINESS. :x

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: iPad

Post by 8O » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:49 pm

beats me wrote:I do save money but probably not a enough. :x
You fail to mention that $900 you just spent just now - http://mashable.com/2011/03/11/ipad-2-line-900/ - beats me, or should I say, Hazem... :|
Image

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: iPad

Post by beats me » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:05 pm

8O wrote:
beats me wrote:I do save money but probably not a enough. :x
You fail to mention that $900 you just spent just now - http://mashable.com/2011/03/11/ipad-2-line-900/ - beats me, or should I say, Hazem... :|
After standing in line outside an Apple store for the iPhone 4 on the day of release and mistakenly thinking it wouldn’t be as bad as people were expecting I will NEVER do that again.

More upsetting was the people who ordered one online to be home delivered actually received it the day before you could pick it up at the store.

:x . Double up. :x :x

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad

Post by LoopStationZebra » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:08 pm

beats.

You need to sell that iPad1 immediately and get the 64GB 3G iPad2.

This is really a no-brainer, bro, and I'm shocked you are even asking.

Fuck the TV.

:x
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

Post Reply