Why don't macs get Viruses?

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
Post Reply
wildcon
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by wildcon » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:03 pm

Just gone down the Mac route.

Having trawled the live forums it seems that Macs don't get viruses 8O

Is this true?

and if so why :?

Ta
MacBook Pro, Mojave, Live 10, Logic Pro X, UAD Apollo & Satellites, UAD, NI Komplete, Izotope, Korg, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Waves plugs.

crofter
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: The foot of our stairs

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by crofter » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:12 pm

No-one can be arsed to write them for such a small market.
Core2 quad q660, 4gig ram, Win 7 home premium SP1.
P4 2.8 ghz, Gigabyte GA- 81E2004P, 1.5 gig ram,XP Home, SP3.
dual core pentium laptop 2 gig ram Win 8.
MOTU 8Pre,Tascam FW-1804,Zoom R16, Ableton live 8.4
Cubase 7

anybody human
Posts: 1049
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by anybody human » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:03 pm

They can, it's just rare, and not just because it's only a small part of the market. A friend who's a programmer once explained how there's a coding thing that makes it difficult, but I was too dumb to understand what he was saying so I don't remember the reason.

OT I was at a show in Minneapolis this past weekend, and every damn person there had an iPhone. Now the same thing that happened with PC's will probably happen with Google's Android phone software, but it surprised me nonetheless. It matters who uses a product, and that the product creates markets and therefore shapes culture. Seriously, you couldn't throw a merch girl without hitting an iPhone in there. The merch girl was so beautiful though 8O

Rave
Posts: 6152
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by Rave » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:08 pm

No viruses, no maintenance, no silly tweeking to get your daw to work nicely.


IT JUST FOOKING WORKS

Emissary
Posts: 2431
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:27 am

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by Emissary » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:37 pm

you can get virus' and trojans but you pretty much have to say YES I WANT TO INSTALL THIS UNKNOWN PROGRAM PLEASE when the popup popsup,
Last edited by Emissary on Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by djsynchro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:39 pm

It just works.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by djsynchro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:39 pm

What's an Intel chip doing in a Mac? A whole lot more than it's ever done in a PC.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by djsynchro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:44 pm

Rave wrote:IT JUST FOOKING WORKS

this

crofter
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: The foot of our stairs

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by crofter » Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:39 pm

Rave wrote:No viruses, no maintenance, no silly tweeking to get your daw to work nicely.


S
No software either.
Core2 quad q660, 4gig ram, Win 7 home premium SP1.
P4 2.8 ghz, Gigabyte GA- 81E2004P, 1.5 gig ram,XP Home, SP3.
dual core pentium laptop 2 gig ram Win 8.
MOTU 8Pre,Tascam FW-1804,Zoom R16, Ableton live 8.4
Cubase 7

wildcon
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by wildcon » Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:55 pm

No-one can be arsed to write them for such a small market.

That's what I thought :) :)
MacBook Pro, Mojave, Live 10, Logic Pro X, UAD Apollo & Satellites, UAD, NI Komplete, Izotope, Korg, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Waves plugs.

Rave
Posts: 6152
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by Rave » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:42 pm

crofter wrote:
Rave wrote:No viruses, no maintenance, no silly tweeking to get your daw to work nicely.


S
No software either.
Fail!

You sound like a guy who has a chip on his shoulder. What a miserable life you lead. LOL

john doe by choice
Posts: 1085
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by john doe by choice » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:19 pm

Emissary wrote:you can get virus' and trojans but you pretty much have to say YES I WANT TO INSTALL THIS UNKNOWN PROGRAM PLEASE when the popup popsup,
This.

See here:

http://blog.intego.com/

http://www.intego.com/news/ism0901.asp

Rave
Posts: 6152
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by Rave » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:21 pm

rudd1028 wrote:they do get viruses.Macs just are incapable of recognizing them.
Have you ever owned one? My macs haven't been infected since I got my first one over 4 year ago. LOL if you are stupid enough to install unknown or pirated software then you deserved to get hacked. That has nothing to do with the system but the stupidity of the user. I have pcs btw and they are inferior unless you are a sad twat who spends his life playing dorky games LOL

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by djsynchro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:07 pm

rudd1028 wrote:Yea, I had a MBP and it was boring and weak.I returned it quickly and got all my money back.
:x :x :x :x :x

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why don't macs get Viruses?

Post by djsynchro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:08 pm

Rave wrote:My macs haven't been infected since I got my first one over 4 year ago.
It just works.

Post Reply