Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
Post Reply
Outcry
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:09 pm

Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Post by Outcry » Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:23 pm

Hi all,

Just had a few technical issues with my new MIDI keyboard.

I took most of the day to setup the new keyboard and I finally have it running through Mackie Control instead of HUI and have finally got the functionality from the DAW command center and keys but now I have a few more issues to take care of.

Open testing the full functionality of the keyboard, I have noticed that the keys A#1, B1, C2 C#2, A4 (which has somehow become the undo button) and C5 (which is adding locator points at selected locations) are not appearing in the MIDI track in indicator and are instead showing in the Key/MIDI In indicator. I have also noticed this same issue with the Pitch Bend wheel, all the faders, all the drum pads and all the pots.

It is worth noting that I know most of these functions are working as for one that are controlling other parts of the software and two, when entering analog lab and using the compatible map, all the functions work bar the Pitch wheel which the latter I find very strange.

Would like to hear any thoughts or possible solutions, any help would be greatly appreciated,

Cheers,
Jackson

jorgegzuniga
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:47 pm

Re: Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Post by jorgegzuniga » Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:48 pm

Hey I'm having the same problem. Did you ever figure it out?

Machinesworking
Posts: 11131
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Post by Machinesworking » Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:35 am

The Keylab Essential actually has a Control Surface setting in MIDI preferences.

I have no idea why you would want to use the Mackie Control surface settings for the Keylab??

oskar_modig
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Post by oskar_modig » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:36 pm

Following Arturia's guide on setting it up worked for me
https://www.arturia.com/faq/keylabessen ... ips-tricks

Note that you should select port 2 on Windows, in step 3 and 4.

CatElisa
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:51 am

Re: Ableton and my new Keylab Essential 49

Post by CatElisa » Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:53 am

I also had this problem, I set the control surface for port 2 to none

Post Reply