Page 1 of 1

VST3 Support? Come on Ableton

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 pm
by ohthepain
Come on. When is Ableton going to support VST3? This is getting RIDICULOUS.

RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: VST3 Support? Come on Ableton

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:13 pm
by wearemindflux
Why are you needing this?

To input audio into a device? If so you can easily do this with AU and VST's in Ableton

Re: VST3 Support? Come on Ableton

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:27 pm
by ohthepain
I need Ableton to support developers that want to develop new plugins. ATM you can't write a new plugin for Ableton unless you happened to download the VST3 SDK while it was still available.

It's inexcusable that Ableton has shunned VST3 for so long. It's a necessary development in vst's and the new standard has been available for years now.

Re: VST3 Support? Come on Ableton

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:09 am
by jestermgee
Thing is developers themselves don't even want to use but at some point DAW vendore will have to support it because as you said, you can no longer get a VST2 developer license for new plugins which kind of sux.

Re: VST3 Support? Come on Ableton

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:29 am
by tedlogan
VST3 has now been introduced in the Beta, Live 10.1, and quite a few other things:

https://www.ableton.com/en/release-notes/live-10-beta/