VST vs AU plugins?

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
Post Reply
8E
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

VST vs AU plugins?

Post by 8E » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:05 am

Is there any benefit using one above another on Mac?
I have, as an example, PianoteQ that installed both AU and VST plugin of the same instrument.
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

8E
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 11:25 am
Location: +ICXC·NIKA+

Re: VST vs AU plugins?

Post by 8E » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:13 pm

I have found numerous topics on the forum, that have answered my question.
MacBook Pro (15", Mid 2015), 2,5 GHz i7, 16GB RAM / OS X El C Live Suite 9.7.6 + Push 1

v00d00ppl
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Location: Fremont, CA
Contact:

Re: VST vs AU plugins?

Post by v00d00ppl » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:26 pm

There shouldn't be. There is plugin delay compensation in live anyways so you are good either ways. There is no performance bump.
SSL X Desk / Apollo Twin Solo / Sherman Restyler / Ensoniq EPS Classic / Analog Keys / Handsome Audio Zulu

jlgrimes
Posts: 1263
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: VST vs AU plugins?

Post by jlgrimes » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:12 pm

8E wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:05 am
Is there any benefit using one above another on Mac?
I have, as an example, PianoteQ that installed both AU and VST plugin of the same instrument.
There are minimal differences.


VST presets are handled differently than AU, where you can get to presets via a drop down menu right on the device. AU are accessable via the browser. VST presets seem to be a more popular format for trading plug-in patches but these days most plug-in patches are proprietary.


I don't believe AU supports midi out so certain midi routing features might not be available in AU.

Performance wise no one platform is better than the other (theoretically). That said depending on developer on version could perform better than the other or one version might have bugs the other one don't have. Usually since VSTs are used more can be better tested but this isn't always the case. Some plugins that dont have VST2 versions do have an AU version so that can be the only choice (which should change once 10.1 is released). A small amount of plugins are AU only.

Post Reply