Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Discussion of anything not related to audio or music production
Post Reply
Sargentpilcher
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:04 am

Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by Sargentpilcher » Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:36 am

Hello all,

I am in the market to build the beastiest beast of a beast machine I can build, and I have my eyes on the 9980XE i9 CPU at 2k$, which has 18 cores in it, with hyper threading that's 36, and so that means 4 can't be used on windows.

Why is this the case?

Mark Williams
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by Mark Williams » Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:13 am

I would wait before buying any components, as the new AMD Ryzen chips and motherboards are out in July, they seem to offer significant performance for less money than their equivilant Intel offering, plus the also have the new flagship Ryzen 9 3950X, which according to benchmarks so far, trounces the Intel i9, that will be available around September it seems.
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Sargentpilcher
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:04 am

Re: Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by Sargentpilcher » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:46 am

I will definitely hold out! I'm not in a rush since I'm still saving up for it. That's the great thing about technology, the longer you wait, the better CPU you can get!

doghouse
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by doghouse » Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:14 pm

I used to work for Intel and AMD amongst other tech companies doing processor and networking design.

The threading issue has more to do with the OS than the hardware underneath it. Threads are spawned by processes (Live runs as one process) and each process is allocated memory space by the OS. There are hard limits based on the total memory space, how much space a particular thread can allocate, how much space a particular process can allocate plus space for what is called the stack which is where the processor stores information about the processes and threads as it switches back and forth between tasks. I would assume that on Mac OS, the allocation limits allow Live to run more threads than it can on Windows and that's all there is to it.

I'm a hardware guy though, maybe some software engineer types here can discuss this further if you want to know the hairy details.

Sargentpilcher
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:04 am

Re: Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by Sargentpilcher » Thu Jul 04, 2019 11:01 pm

That answers my question perfectly thank you!!

Mark Williams
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Deal, Kent

Re: Ableton live can utilize 32 threads on windows, and 64 on mac. Why?

Post by Mark Williams » Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:27 pm

Well I have my Ryzen 3600 & x570 rig up and running, and initial impressions are WOW... Knocks my old Intel i5 4460 into history. Without any major tweaking/optimising I have immediately got my overall latency under 9ms 128buffer, may go lower, but I need to get all my stuff installed onto this fresh rig. Only tweaks I have done is Ram XMP turned on (3600mhz), disabled Cpu C States & Precision boost on.
Live 10,Push 2, Maschine MK3 & KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind 12D, Novation Peak, Komplete 12, Minitaur,TC Electronics M1XL, Waves Audio Beta tester
Get 10% off Waves Plugins https://www.waves.com/r/r0z5tks

Post Reply