Why do I still have my copy of Live 8.2.1?

Post Reply
rickdorr
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:18 am

Why do I still have my copy of Live 8.2.1?

Post by rickdorr » Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:21 am

I downloaded the 8.2.2 update and it appears it didn't update, just placed a new copy on my computer which asks "Live wants to use your confidential information stored in "Ableton Services" in your key chain" and then goes on to say the Authenticity of "Live" cannot be verified. Do you want to allow Access to this item? Did I download this update incorrectly?

lqud009
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Why do I still have my copy of Live 8.2.1?

Post by lqud009 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:06 pm

Mac or PC?

djteck
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:48 am
Location: western mass usa
Contact:

Re: Why do I still have my copy of Live 8.2.1?

Post by djteck » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:49 pm

from what i see it keeps your old ableton versions ... i think you can delete them .. but dont hold me to this

ark
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Why do I still have my copy of Live 8.2.1?

Post by ark » Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:19 pm

Each version of Live you install is independent. That way, when a new version comes along, you can install it and make sure that everything you care about still works before deleting the old one.

Not only that, but starting with Live 8.1.3, Live sets are backward compatible (subject to feature availability, of course); so if you save something with a new version, you don't have to worry about becoming unable to use it with an older version in case something goes wrong.

So install the new one, use it to your heart's content, and then uninstall the old one once you no longer want it.

Post Reply