All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:26 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:46 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Miami, FL USA
Hello fellow Abletonians!

Is 64 bit Native Support ever going to happen? With the release of Live version 8.2.5 which features OSX 10.7 Lion compatibility you would expect 64 bit Native Support inside Ableton Live, as this new operating system from Apple works best with applications that support 64 bit natively. Ableton Live is ahead of the game in many aspects when compared to other DAWs; but unfortunately seems to continue to fail to deliver 64 bit native support. This is a huge disadvantage for those of us who spent thousands of dollars in robust computers for audio production (Ex. MacPro) as these systems support up to 64gb of ram memory... Ableton Live is unable to utilize anything over 4gb of ram memory of the entire system memory, so if you have anything over 4gb of ram and use Ableton Live you just wasted A LOT of money on memory and hardware. Is Ableton Live unable to deliver this very essencial feature to their software? Honestly, I feel let down in a major way by Ableton with it comes to this... Common' guys!!!!! You guys are ahead of the game for the most part but seriously need to get it together and implement this very needed feature that would allow your customers to take full advantage of their very expensive hardware systems as well as improve user experience as this would improve the overall performance of your software under heavy use of plug-ins in midi & audio tracks. You very well know this... I feel like I'm preaching to the choir here...

Sincerely,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:37 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:39 pm
Posts: 9
I have a 2010 Macbook Pro running Snow Leopard 10.6.8. Ableton doesn't like my setup at all. As soon as I get into a creative groove, I click something I shouldn't have, and Ableton crashes. At this point I've started using Logic Pro. I held out for a long time, but I'm tired of being disappointed. I can barely keep Ableton running long enough to Rewire my projects into Logic Pro. The main problem is that Ableton is running in 32 bit. Every mac user knows when an high performance app (like a DAW) runs in 32 bit, it never really works right. Ableton, it's been too long. At least make an announcement that 64 bit is in the works. Otherwise, more people like me will move on to other DAW's.

_________________
"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources."
-- Albert Einstein

2.66 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro 4 GB RAM, MOTU 828MKII


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:34 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Posts: 16
I'm getting at least one crash every hour, sometimes more. "Out of memory" mainly. 32bit addressing just doesn't cut it any more.

+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:58 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:32 am
Posts: 99
enomusic wrote:
I feel like I'm preaching to the choir here...

Sincerely,


Either you wait till its ready (and I am sure its coming) - or just switch DAW and get happy elsewhere.

Do you think the Abletons don't know what to do? Seriously...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:31 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 5:35 pm
Posts: 18
I know these guys know it's important...they've got to be planning on getting it out soon. I too experience out of memory crashes all the time.

Maybe we will get it for Christmas???????? I would be in heaven...might even buy max for live


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:27 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:28 pm
Posts: 179
After more than a year of hoping, I gave up and bought Cubase 6. When I have to click on the 'loading this may destabilize your system" dialog six times loading an Ableton project, it's no longer tolerable. :( I'm sitting here staring at my Launchpad and MPD32 considering dumping them on Craigslist.

_________________
MFOS Ultimate Expand-o-tron Build Log: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=308797#308797
MFOS Mini-Controller Build Log [FINISHED!]: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=42968


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:51 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
As much as I think ableton live is a great daw ( my favourite ) I need to know a date for a 64bit version soon, or shall uninstall it and purchase another such as cubase.I am sure that if I have gone to the trouble to register an account to express this, a lot of other users must feel like this re no 64bit version.
8O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:51 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:32 am
Posts: 99
Either you wait till its ready (and I am sure its coming) - or just switch DAW and get happy elsewhere.

Do you think the Abletons don't know what to do? Seriously...

Again and again and again...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:18 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
dokx wrote:
Either you wait till its ready (and I am sure its coming) - or just switch DAW and get happy elsewhere.

Do you think the Abletons don't know what to do? Seriously...

Again and again and again...


yes because many people have 64 bit already and many other daws are already 64 bit, why are you so defensive of live? we are simply giving feedback, btw I have installed a new DAW for now at least

I am sure the new version is likely ready but is being withheld until it can have maximum advertisement/ promo at an industry gathering etc to maximise sales, it just may be that a lot of existing customers will be lost to the company in the wait


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:43 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 6:45 am
Posts: 488
No, I think it has to do with Zplane's pitch shifting engine not been available in 64-bit mode until Oct 12 this year (2011.)

_________________
KentSandvik.com MUSIC | STUDIO


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:34 pm 

Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 1265
Location: France
cirquel wrote:
dokx wrote:
I am sure the new version is likely ready but is being withheld until it can have maximum advertisement/ promo at an industry gathering etc to maximise sales, it just may be that a lot of existing customers will be lost to the company in the wait


Maybe abletonians work for the CIA or come from another planet and there's a plot to invade Earth... :lol:

_________________
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2,3 ghz I7 4Go RAM OS 10.8.5 X-station/iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR+BCF2000/ Livid Code
RME FF UC Live 9.0.6 / 9.1.1 + MFL + Max 6.16 Yeepee !
Madlab sound unit :/: sounds FX, objects, guitar and electronics :/: end_of_transmission


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:52 pm 

Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Posts: 74
Location: England
Pro tools 10........Also not 64bit and these threads appear on their forum to. You would think someone would make an official statement about what and when we can maybe expect something rather than leaving it up to loyal users to endlessly speculate.

_________________
'WE ARE BLIP' EP out now. Juno Beatport and so on. Distant tremor Unearthed VA CD http://distanttremor.com/

http://soundcloud.com/distant-tremor/se ... -are-blip/

http://www.myspace.com/alanpsyfi https://www.facebook.com/pages/Psyfi/107738257120


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:50 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:41 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Canada
+ 1 for 64bit Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:35 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 5
madlab wrote:
cirquel wrote:
dokx wrote:
I am sure the new version is likely ready but is being withheld until it can have maximum advertisement/ promo at an industry gathering etc to maximise sales, it just may be that a lot of existing customers will be lost to the company in the wait


Maybe abletonians work for the CIA or come from another planet and there's a plot to invade Earth... :lol:


:roll: it is ready and waiting for maximum exposure at an industry gathering nothing to do with what you are joking about just maximizing sales...

hello cubase


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 64 bit Native Support - Ableton Unable To?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:00 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:26 pm
Posts: 100
dokx wrote:
Do you think the Abletons don't know what to do?


You've clearly never used Live 8 if you think Ableton know what they're doing. They couldn't organize a piss-up in a brewery.

_________________
Mac Pro
Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2 x 2.8 GHz
10 GB RAM
OSX 10.5.6


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group