OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:13 pm

Observed behavior :

Installed and loaded the 8.4.1b 64bit ... in the plugin section there is only one set of plugin folders, all AU. VSTs are not displayed.

VSTs are selected to appear in Preferences. Option-Rescan does not find the VSTs.

Trying to select the Root VST folder as a custom folder tells me that the 'Root VST folder is already active


Expected behavior :

Root VST & AU folders, with VST plugins and AUs inside each. VSTs active.

[ OSX 10.7.4 ... Late 2011 MBP ]

Note: Added 64bit for clarity.
Last edited by taoyoyo on Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

Gnuus
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by Gnuus » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:45 pm

taoyoyo wrote:Observed behavior :

Installed and loaded the 8.4.1b... in the plugin section there is only one set of plugin folders, all AU. VSTs are not displayed.

VSTs are selected to appear in Preferences. Option-Rescan does not find the VSTs.

Trying to select the Root VST folder as a custom folder tells me that the 'Root VST folder is already active


Expected behavior :

Root VST & AU folders, with VST plugins and AUs inside each. VSTs active.

[ OSX 10.7.4 ... Late 2011 MBP ]
The same behavior for me!?
http://myspace.com/aftronics
Live 10 Intro | iMac 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 | 16 GB Ram | Samaon Graphite 49 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | iPad air | ZOOM TAC-2 | Roland TD11

h4nc0
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:58 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by h4nc0 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:02 pm

some of my NI Komplete plugins like Massive, Reaktor are not showing up. (AU) Other NI plugins do work. And apparently I can't go back to 32bit beta version?
Last edited by h4nc0 on Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sigabort
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by sigabort » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:05 pm

have you installed the 64-bit Live, and if so, do you have the 64-bit plugins installed?

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:07 pm

I just downloaded the 32bit beta...

VST's show up in the browser as expected so it looks like it's a 64bit only issue.
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:09 pm

sigabort wrote:have you installed the 64-bit Live, and if so, do you have the 64-bit plugins installed?
Sorry, should have been clearer in my first post (corrected now).

Yes, it's the 64bit version.

64bit plugins are installed and work fine in other 64bit applications (Studio One, Maschine, Kore).
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

kanuto
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by kanuto » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:19 pm

No VSTs for me neither...

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by [mal] » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:26 pm

Please inform us of company and version number of the plugins for tracking this issue, and do make sure the plugin itself is 64 bit OSX compliant.

Known issues and limitation for plugin support can be found here.
http://www.ableton.com/articles/what-di ... rsion-live

sigabort
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: London

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by sigabort » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm

i have Windows machine and works fine (I have my 64-plugs in a different directory tho, so I just had to go into preferences and change the VST directory over to the 64-bit one)

h4nc0
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:58 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by h4nc0 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:04 pm

sorry, I got the Ni plugins working in 64bit. But I also don't see anything in VST.

kanuto
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by kanuto » Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:07 pm

NI Massive is working now. Izotope Ozone doesnt (although I copied the 64bit version in a new 64bit folder like I did with massive) Melodyne and dominion the same problem.

garyboozy
Posts: 2561
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by garyboozy » Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:46 pm

same here ( 10.6.8 ). i have a few 64bit vsts, but they don't show.
in fact, the actual VST and AU folders don't show up at all, just the AU folder contents/plugins.

Live 8.3.2:
Image

Live8.4b1:
Image

scottiedo
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: atlanta, ga
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by scottiedo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:53 pm

garyboozy wrote:same here ( 10.6.8 ). i have a few 64bit vsts, but they don't show.
in fact, the actual VST and AU folders don't show up at all, just the AU folder contents/plugins.

Live 8.3.2:
Image

Live8.4b1:
Image
Same Here. Mac OS 10.6.8

djbambam
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by djbambam » Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:55 pm

Same here. 10.7.4
scottiedo wrote:
garyboozy wrote:same here ( 10.6.8 ). i have a few 64bit vsts, but they don't show.
in fact, the actual VST and AU folders don't show up at all, just the AU folder contents/plugins.

Live 8.3.2:
Image

Live8.4b1:
Image
Same Here. Mac OS 10.6.8

[tow]
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by [tow] » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:00 pm

Could you try a plug-in rescan from scratch via [alt]+Rescan and check if this makes a difference compared to the usual rescan?

Locked