OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:27 pm

Steffen Zimmer wrote: go to setup and switch vst folder off in setup. close live. open live again and reverse the step. it happened to me with any previous release of live....
... Never had to do this with any previous version of Live?

(and the above tip didn't work for me... Live is still only successfully scanning VSTs from the User folder in OSX).
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

Kilroy
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:34 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:15 pm

Torley,

I tried your trick, and it worked--except that Waves VSTs still aren't showing up. Do you have waves VSTs showing up by any chance?

Unfortunately, I discovered that the bug with Waves AUs still exists in 8.4, making them a pain to use.

Thanks,

Kilroy

djbambam
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by djbambam » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:24 pm

Kilroy wrote:Torley,

I tried your trick, and it worked--except that Waves VSTs still aren't showing up. Do you have waves VSTs showing up by any chance?

Unfortunately, I discovered that the bug with Waves AUs still exists in 8.4, making them a pain to use.

Thanks,

Kilroy
Same thing here. Moved VSTs to user-specific plug-ins folder and it looks like they all showed up except the Waves. AU Waves work though, so that's strange that the VSTs won't show. Perhaps, it's because they don't belong in the user-specific VST folder? Which leads me to ask... if the AUs show up without having to move those, why should we be required to move our VSTs to our user-specific folder? Doesn't make sense.

parma
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:14 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by parma » Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:50 pm

same behavior here

10.6.8

Torley
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:40 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Torley » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:42 am

Kilroy wrote: I tried your trick, and it worked--except that Waves VSTs still aren't showing up. Do you have waves VSTs showing up by any chance?
I think I had the same problem — and I ran into other workflow issues, since I'm relying on Max For Live. So I've gone back to 8.3.1 with jBridgeM for the time being.

I really hope this VST scanning bug is fixed soon so that we don't have to juggle between file directories.
Yes, that Torley. I use Live to do THIS. :)

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by [mal] » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:12 pm

If the issues mentioned here persist, please post them in the dedicated plugin problem sticky post here:

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=182175

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:17 pm

Same issue here. The entire system VST folder does not show up. I copied all my VSTs into a different folder and set that as my custom VST folder in preferences and that folder does show up with all my 64 bit plug-ins.
Professional Shark Jumper.

chrishanebutt
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by chrishanebutt » Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:02 pm

Same issue as above... After setting custom VST folder Waves Plugins still don't work.. Only AU Waves... In addition, no UAD plugs show in either AU or VST..


Mac OS X 10.6.8, LIVE 8.4beta, Quad Core Mac 2.66, 10GB RAM

smaucher
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:12 pm
Location: s/w Germany
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by smaucher » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:07 pm

same here: Mac pro 10.7.4 x64
you start bleeding - I start sceaming
propaganda 1985

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by [mal] » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:18 pm

We have located a problem on OSX concerning missing plugins in your VST panel. This should be fixed in the upcoming beta version. You can help by confirming following will fix the problem.

If you start any ableton version in 32 bit mode, your ableton preferences.cfg will be locked to this bit depth. This is the reason for 64 bit plugins not showing up in the browser in spite of deeper rescans holding alt.

1) close ableton
2) remove the preferences.cfg file in the folder:
/users/[username]/Library/Preferences/ableton
3) Launch ableton

If you start the 64 bit version after this you will only see 64 bit plugins, and the 32 bit plugins will be missing. Should you wish 32 bit plugins, please repeat the steps, or launch the 32 bit version as the first thing.

We have not heard of windows users with this problem. If yes, please reply to this thread and try the same steps as for OSX to verify the fix. The cfg file is located here under windows:
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live 8.4b2\Preferences

Bernd
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Bernd » Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:17 pm

Hi everybody,

I would like to close this thread as the risk is to high that we oversee another problem than the VST scanning problem. This VST scanning problem is known and will be fixed in 8.4b2. For more information please see

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=182281

If you experience any other problem, please create a new thread or - even better- extend an existing thread with the same topic.

Regards, Bernd.
Bernd Roggendorf
roggendorf@ableton.com

Locked