OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

garyboozy
Posts: 2575
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by garyboozy » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:08 pm

tried it already - posted here: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=182095

rescan doesnt work at all it seems - alt, no alt, switching the folder toggles off & on in prefs... only thing that works is a Live restart, and still no VST folder visible.

djbambam
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by djbambam » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:13 pm

[tow] wrote:Could you try a plug-in rescan from scratch via [alt]+Rescan and check if this makes a difference compared to the usual rescan?
[alt]+Rescan does nothing for me.

scottiedo
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: atlanta, ga
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by scottiedo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:17 pm

[tow] wrote:Could you try a plug-in rescan from scratch via [alt]+Rescan and check if this makes a difference compared to the usual rescan?
No change. Restarted Live after Alt+Rescan too.

Roric
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:18 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Roric » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:40 pm

Native Instruments and Izotope Plugins work great for me.
TAL, Smartelectronix, Roughrider, and a few other plug-ins do not show up.

turnitto11
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:35 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by turnitto11 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:44 pm

Same issue here. OSX 10.7.4, MBP i7
MacBook Pro (13", 2.7ghz i7, 16gb, 10.9), Suite 9

davidebattista
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:54 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by davidebattista » Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:16 pm

same problem here, I must insert "manually" and then they are gone!!!
Manually: scan into the folder plug-in and not in a generic folder with others plug-ins, than rescan the generic folder with all plugins and...done!!! they are in my vst folder!
with auto rescan and rescan when open ableton didn't worked for me!!!

cids
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by cids » Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:19 pm

Same here only (64-bit) AUs no VST's. Rescan (with or without ALT) doesn't make a difference.
Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad-Core

Genelec 8020; Live 10; macOS Mojave 10.14

Novation ReMOTE 49SL Compact, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14

natallica
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 3:18 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by natallica » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:06 pm

Same here. OS 10.7.4 -- only AU showing up in the 64-bit version.

-- N

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:09 pm

[mal] wrote:Please inform us of company and version number of the plugins for tracking this issue, and do make sure the plugin itself is 64 bit OSX compliant.

Known issues and limitation for plugin support can be found here.
http://www.ableton.com/articles/what-di ... rsion-live
Hi there,

As others have said after I started the thread, I'm not seeing a VST folder *at all* with any (64bit compatible) plugins listed... just a single folder list (without the AU folder) of the Manufacturer names with AU inside.

Most of the VSTs I've installed are 64bit ready so they should show up, unless there is a new folder for 64bit plugins for Live that I need to be aware of.

Rescanning doesn't work. Moving all VSTs out, reloading Live isn't working either.

Live indicates that the VST folder is recognized (by not allowing me to set the standard VST root folder as a Custom folder) but it's not showing any plugins in the browser.

[ EDIT: As an aside, it looks like all my 64bit AU's are showing up fine, just no VSTs. ]
Last edited by taoyoyo on Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

cids
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by cids » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:21 pm

Same here!
Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad-Core

Genelec 8020; Live 10; macOS Mojave 10.14

Novation ReMOTE 49SL Compact, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14

Torley
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:40 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Torley » Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:57 am

On Mac OS X 10.7.4, I found I had to move my 64-bit VST plugins into my user-specific home folder:

Code: Select all

~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
aka

Code: Select all

/Users/<your user name>/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST 
(Paste that into the Finder's Go menu > Go to Folder to be sure you get the right one.)

They were previously working in the non-user-specific "/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST" folder (note the missing ~ at the beginning). No matter what I tried with rescanning, they weren't detected.

Hope this helps someone out there.
Yes, that Torley. I use Live to do THIS. :)

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by taoyoyo » Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:14 am

Torley wrote:On Mac OS X 10.7.4, I found I had to move my 64-bit VST plugins into my user-specific home folder:

Code: Select all

~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
aka

Code: Select all

/Users/<your user name>/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST 
(Paste that into the Finder's Go menu > Go to Folder to be sure you get the right one.)

They were previously working in the non-user-specific "/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST" folder (note the missing ~ at the beginning). No matter what I tried with rescanning, they weren't detected.

Hope this helps someone out there.
Thanks Torley... this worked for me in 64bit. Had a couple of VST plugins crash on me whilst scanning but at least they're showing up now. :)

I think in the long run it would be safer for the standard VST folder to be working... have noticed a few issues with the User version (not sure technically why) in the past.
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

Gnuus
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:51 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by Gnuus » Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:42 am

Torley wrote:On Mac OS X 10.7.4, I found I had to move my 64-bit VST plugins into my user-specific home folder:

Code: Select all

~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
aka

Code: Select all

/Users/<your user name>/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST 
(Paste that into the Finder's Go menu > Go to Folder to be sure you get the right one.)

They were previously working in the non-user-specific "/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST" folder (note the missing ~ at the beginning). No matter what I tried with rescanning, they weren't detected.

Hope this helps someone out there.

Works for me....!
http://myspace.com/aftronics
Live 10 Intro | iMac 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 | 16 GB Ram | Samaon Graphite 49 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | iPad air | ZOOM TAC-2 | Roland TD11

palSLAPS
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:15 am

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b 64bit Plugin browser

Post by palSLAPS » Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:55 am

Torley wrote:On Mac OS X 10.7.4, I found I had to move my 64-bit VST plugins into my user-specific home folder:

Code: Select all

~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
aka

Code: Select all

/Users/<your user name>/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST 
(Paste that into the Finder's Go menu > Go to Folder to be sure you get the right one.)

They were previously working in the non-user-specific "/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST" folder (note the missing ~ at the beginning). No matter what I tried with rescanning, they weren't detected.

Hope this helps someone out there.
That did it.

Steffen Zimmer
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: OSX - VSTs not showing up in 8.4.1b Plugin browser

Post by Steffen Zimmer » Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:37 am

Gnuus wrote:
taoyoyo wrote:Observed behavior :

Installed and loaded the 8.4.1b... in the plugin section there is only one set of plugin folders, all AU. VSTs are not displayed.

VSTs are selected to appear in Preferences. Option-Rescan does not find the VSTs.

Trying to select the Root VST folder as a custom folder tells me that the 'Root VST folder is already active


Expected behavior :

Root VST & AU folders, with VST plugins and AUs inside each. VSTs active.

[ OSX 10.7.4 ... Late 2011 MBP ]
go to setup and switch vst folder off in setup. close live. open live again and reverse the step. it happened to me with any previous release of live....

The same behavior for me!?
Can you count all the politically motivated songs that have been written?
how many have brought real change?

Locked