8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by mozzatron » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:53 pm

Spec:
iMac OS X 10.6.8
2.8GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

I tried 8.4b1 and opened up a set i had been working on in 8.3.3

I got a message when opening that said that various plugs ins were not found.... Sylenth, Albino 3 & Abysnth 5. Obviously Sylenth & Albino were not found as they were 32 bit plug ins. I have updated Albino so that is now 64 bit (Sylenth does not have 64 bit support for Mac)....not quite sure what the problem was with Absynth.....

Anyway, upon opening the same set with 8.4b2, all plugs ins loaded....including Sylenth. If i understand correctly Sylenth should not work at all in the 64 bit version of Ableton if it is part of a previous set which uses 32 bit Ableton?

I also checked the "About Live" tab and the specs of Ableton read as follows..... Live 8 (8.4b2 Build: 2012-07-10 (a few other numbers) 32-bit)

Maybe i'm confused but i thought this was just 64 bit or do i have to change it in the settings somewhere to change to 64 -bit?
Last edited by mozzatron on Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 8.4b2 running in 32bit?

Post by [mal] » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:59 pm

Hi mozzatron,

The 64 bit version is a separate download and not a "mode" for Live. Please go to the download page and get the 64 bit version from there.
http://www.ableton.com/downloads/live-8-beta


best,
Mads

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8.4b2 running in 32bit?

Post by mozzatron » Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:25 pm

Derrrrr, obviously downloaded the wrong one innit!

Cheers Mads....hopefully this will get things working

Not happy about Sylenth missing out on a 64-bit release for Mac.......sort it out Lennard!

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by mozzatron » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:07 pm

Still not able to load up Absynth using the same example as before......now using the 64-bit version on 8.4b2

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by taoyoyo » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:50 pm

Are you using the VST or AU?

I've noticed in the past that the Absynth VSTs are a bit funny and that I need to have both Absynth.vst and AbsynthST.vst in place for Absynth to load properly (and IIRC only the Stereo version will load/sound properly when loaded in a stereo channel).
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by mozzatron » Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:01 am

I'm using the AU
version and still not able to get it to work

VoiceOfNature
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Munich, Kathmandu

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by VoiceOfNature » Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:36 am

Friends,

this might exclusively be an Apple problem; @ PC NI Absynth 5 VST fully works
Win 7 x64, CPU i7 1.73 GHz, SSD, RME Babyface / Fireface

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by mozzatron » Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:59 am

I'm sure they will get it sorted soon.....hopefully!

taoyoyo
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:17 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by taoyoyo » Sun Jul 15, 2012 4:36 pm

mozzatron wrote:I'm using the AU
version and still not able to get it to work
... Ah.

Just the tried Absynth 5 AU in 8.4b2 on 10.7.4.

Working fine here. (Possibly SL-related?)
http://taoyoyo.com

Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro | 10.8.4 | RME Babyface

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by 3dot... » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:08 pm

had they same problem with PRO-53 + Live 8.3.3 (32bit)
8.3 is all good..
Image

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by [mal] » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:31 pm

Hi,

When posting plug in issues, please tell us which version of Absynth is problematic.

Best,
Mads

mozzatron
Posts: 250
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 am
Location: Sydney

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by mozzatron » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:53 am

I have all the latest versions of NI plug ins so it would be Absynth 5.1.0

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by [mal] » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:57 am

Hi,

For those of you that are missing Absynth in your plugin list-

Please select help in your menu, and 'get support'. Please send this file to support@ableton.com that will enable us to see the system log of AU plugins and hopefully get closer to the problem.

best,
Mads

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by [mal] » Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:16 am

We are unfortunately not able to reproduce the missing Absynth 5.1.0 AU. I am giving this thread a bump since we would make progress if we had the status report (help -> get support) from users that were missing the Absynth AU.

Best,
Mads

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 8.4b2 - Absynth 5 not recognised

Post by [mal] » Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:48 am

Giving this another bump.

Should you miss absynth in your plugin list, please send in the status report as described (get support, send in the *.alp)
In addition, please attach the preferences.cfg

Best,
Mads

Post Reply