Memory Corruption Detected

davidebattista
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:54 am

Memory Corruption Detected

Post by davidebattista » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:30 pm

Win 7 64bit 16Gb

Used b4, and from today I see this error when open ableton: Memory corruption detected...damn I don't remember the entrire code but there are "e...5"(sorry but in pc studio there isn't internet)
I tried to install again...nothing, same error.

The application crash, but the process remain active, so I must close it with ctrl+alt+del

Rollin back to b3 and all works well!!!

Destroy The Evidence
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by Destroy The Evidence » Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:26 pm

I have the exact same problem with the exact same configuration. A shame because it was incredible using all of that 16gb of RAM before the problem started.

Destroy The Evidence
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by Destroy The Evidence » Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:52 pm

Where can I download b3 until they fix this? I can't find it. Right now I have to use the 32bit version which is killing a large session I'm working on. Thanks!

morphtec
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by morphtec » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:44 pm

"Memory corruption detected (0x5e). Please contact support@ableton.com."

Thats the message I'm getting plus Live opens www.ableton.com in a new tab in my browser and then shuts down when I confirm the error message.
My guess is that this is the fault of an automatic update?
I need this to be fixed as fast as possible.

davidebattista
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:54 am

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by davidebattista » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:53 pm

morphtec wrote:"Memory corruption detected (0x5e). Please contact support@ableton.com."

Thats the message I'm getting plus Live opens http://www.ableton.com in a new tab in my browser and then shuts down when I confirm the error message.
My guess is that this is the fault of an automatic update?
I need this to be fixed as fast as possible.
Yesss great it's the error!!!!

morphtec
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by morphtec » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:04 pm

yea ... now I need to figure out how to go back to the last working version ...

davidebattista wrote:
morphtec wrote:"Memory corruption detected (0x5e). Please contact support@ableton.com."

Thats the message I'm getting plus Live opens http://www.ableton.com in a new tab in my browser and then shuts down when I confirm the error message.
My guess is that this is the fault of an automatic update?
I need this to be fixed as fast as possible.
Yesss great it's the error!!!!

davidebattista
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:54 am

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by davidebattista » Sun Aug 12, 2012 9:16 am

I don't know why the ableton team deleted the old file versions, is so difficult to have an archive with the last 5 o 10 version beta and official???.

morphtec
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by morphtec » Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:22 pm

yes ... it's really unfortunate.
I searched upside down for 8.4b2 .... nowhere to find.

davidebattista wrote:I don't know why the ableton team deleted the old file versions, is so difficult to have an archive with the last 5 o 10 version beta and official???.

JIMMY SWAGGOT the well known...
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:40 am

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by JIMMY SWAGGOT the well known... » Sun Aug 12, 2012 5:53 pm

i am getting this too. link for b3?

morphtec
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by morphtec » Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:03 am

I already asked here too:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=183467&p=1425272#p1425272
unfortunately nothing yet ...

JIMMY SWAGGOT the well known... wrote:i am getting this too. link for b3?

nidefawl
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:31 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by nidefawl » Mon Aug 13, 2012 4:54 am

Same here (Win7, x64, 8GB memory), started with b3, still present with b4.

The Ableton process doesn't end after clicking OK and has to be killed manually.

Launching 8.3.1b2 (32 bit) and going to Options -> Preferences -> File/Folder and clicking Cleanup fixes it (for me, for some time)

Image

morphtec
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by morphtec » Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:20 pm

Ha!
Thank you so much!
I installed Live 8.3 clicked "cleanup" then started Live 8.4 and now it works again. I was already trying to press "cleanup" (Ableton said to do so in the release notes) in 8.4 but it won't let me and kept crashing.
Thanks again!


nidefawl wrote:Same here (Win7, x64, 8GB memory), started with b3, still present with b4.

The Ableton process doesn't end after clicking OK and has to be killed manually.

Launching 8.3.1b2 (32 bit) and going to Options -> Preferences -> File/Folder and clicking Cleanup fixes it (for me, for some time)

Image

Destroy The Evidence
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:54 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by Destroy The Evidence » Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:29 pm

Great job Nidefawl!

Glad to have a band-aid even though I have to do it once per session. As soon as I exited the session and re-launch I get the error again and have to restart, and hit the clean-up button again.

What's strange is I manually deleted the cache folder and this didn't fix it (deleted every hidden Ableton folder I could find) so that "Cleanup" button must be doing more than just purging the directory.

I contacted support@ableton.com and they just gave me the "Uninstall/re-install live, check HD for errors, etc." so I emailed the tech with this thread as obviously it's a coding problem with the update.

[tow]
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by [tow] » Tue Aug 14, 2012 5:37 pm

Hi everybody,

if you haven't already done this, if it's still possible for you to create a Status Report (Help menu -> Get Support...), please do so and send it to support@ableton.com.
If Live doesn't even start for you, you could try retrieving the Live 8.4b4 Log.txt file directly from C:\Users\[Username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live 8.4b4\Preferences\ and send this file instead (if available).

We'd like to take a look into these files.

Best,

Torsten

1trickymicky
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Memory Corruption Detected

Post by 1trickymicky » Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:10 am

hey ableton peeps, any update on this issue? its kickin my ass!

Locked