32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post Reply
kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by kevwestbeats » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:19 pm

I know upon the initial release it was said that 32 bit plug ins cannot work in Live 64 bit but I want to know if that issue has been resolved yet? If not is there a way of using my J Bridge from Sonar with Live to do so?
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

studiologic
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Land of Funk

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by studiologic » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:14 pm

kevwestbeats wrote:I know upon the initial release it was said that 32 bit plug ins cannot work in Live 64 bit but I want to know if that issue has been resolved yet? If not is there a way of using my J Bridge from Sonar with Live to do so?
there is no issue!!! 32-bit apps are not supported in ableton live 64-bit beta... ableton has recommended using the jbridge app with ableton... not sure if the jbridge from Sonar will work... but try pointing ableton live 64-bit beta to your "bridged" apps and see what happens... one would think they should work...

yours truely Funk!!!

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by kevwestbeats » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:17 pm

As in there is no intention of supporting 32 bit plug ins with the 64 bit version? Ok I will stay with my 32 bit then Thanks.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

studiologic
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Land of Funk

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by studiologic » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:29 pm

kevwestbeats wrote:As in there is no intention of supporting 32 bit plug ins with the 64 bit version? Ok I will stay with my 32 bit then Thanks.
there is no intentions of supporting 32 bit plugins in the 64 bit version... jbridge works pretty well when wrapping 64-bit plugin to run in a 32 bit environment... according to most here it works well with 32-bit plugins in the Live 64-bit beta...

to be honest... after following the 64-bit beta... there are a ton of 64-bit configurations that ableton has to support... why support legacy plugins... i can see why 32-bit plugins are not support... it grows the workload exponentially... plus... jbridge is a solid solution... and for ableton... why reinvent the wheel!!!

p.s. jbridge only cost about $20...

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by kevwestbeats » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:48 pm

I didn't know the price of it. Just heard it wasn't supported and since all of my plug ins come in 32 bit but not all are in 64 bit I said if it ain't broke kinda thing. I may look into the J Bridge since its so cheap and run 64 bit Live because I have a lot of 32 bit plug ins I do not want to live without.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

studiologic
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Land of Funk

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by studiologic » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:58 pm

i think the jbridge app is a good investment... even with 32 bit apps... 3.4 gb theshold of ableton 32-bit comes pretty fast... with the jbridge app... you never have to worry about memory... i.e. no freezing/un-freezing tracks or crashing because of memory allocation...

plus... the support for jbridge is "outstanding"!!!

glamourpuss
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:33 am

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by glamourpuss » Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:25 pm

jbridge works perfectly and a worthy $20 investment, support is excellent and you'll never have to worry about getting various 64bit plug in support from the various authors.
Gareth Bellamy
DJ/Producer
Programming Director Tractor FM 88.2
New Zealand

psyndrome
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:22 pm
Location: Magdeburg (Germany)
Contact:

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by psyndrome » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:33 am

Yeah, JBridge is working pretty well. Support is excellent. Respect to the author. Running Mac and JBridgeM.

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by kevwestbeats » Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:17 am

Does it work well on PC also?
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

[mal]
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by [mal] » Mon Sep 17, 2012 10:42 am

Hi,


It does work for PC also, for known limitations please refer to the Jbridge site
http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridge/

There are currently no plan of developing a bit bridge for ableton, since it would only be a tempoary solution (plugin companies ARE porting to 64 bit).

There should also be native 64 bit versions of your cakewalk plugins available, if I am not mistaken.

Best,
Mads

studiologic
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Land of Funk

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by studiologic » Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:18 pm

kevwestbeats wrote:Does it work well on PC also?
there is a demo of jbridge... give it a test run for your configuration...

i do not believe ableton would recommend jbridge without it being a "sollution"/good solution for bridging vst/i in ableton...

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 32 bit plug ins with 64 bit live

Post by kevwestbeats » Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:44 pm

funken wrote:Just to remind people, it will only work if you have more than 4GB of RAM.
I have 8 and I am debating on upgrading to 16 if I can get a serious performance jump.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

Post Reply