All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I have a bunch of 64 bit projects, can't turn back..
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:23 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:00 pm
Posts: 3
So, I now have a bunch of 64 bit projects, that when loaded go beyond the 32bit memory limit.. It's pretty easy to do with a few instances of big sampled kontakt instruments like Studio Drummer and Electri6ity.

So i was just thinking, what happens if I need to go back to 32bit Ableton? How would I even open these projects anymore? The only way I could think of doing so, was opening them in 64bit beta, breaking the project into two, and flatten different tracks in one and the other so they won't go beyond the 32 bit memory limit. Anyone else have any ideas?

Also, I hope Live 9 is 64 bit ready, so that I wouldn't have to worry about this. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I have a bunch of 64 bit projects, can't turn back..
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:58 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am
Posts: 502
Hi,

You would most likely run into the out of memory crash recalling projects in the 32 bit version.

You could bounce the heavy VST's into wave tracks to keep the project flexible without bouncing it all to collected stems.


Best,
Mads


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I have a bunch of 64 bit projects, can't turn back..
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:06 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:18 am
Posts: 23
Location: Ireland
Might it be possible to use JBridge to run the 32 bit plugins in their own memory space? - So fire up a 32bit Ableton and load 32bit plugins that are jbridged - Jbridge might use the extra ram like a separate ram controller? or might it still only address the same memory space?

_________________
http://www.cloudkillers.com - Free SoundCloud promotions!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I have a bunch of 64 bit projects, can't turn back..
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:48 am 

Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Posts: 1576
Location: South London
SyntheticJuice wrote:
So, I now have a bunch of 64 bit projects, that when loaded go beyond the 32bit memory limit.. It's pretty easy to do with a few instances of big sampled kontakt instruments like Studio Drummer and Electri6ity.

So i was just thinking, what happens if I need to go back to 32bit Ableton? How would I even open these projects anymore? The only way I could think of doing so, was opening them in 64bit beta, breaking the project into two, and flatten different tracks in one and the other so they won't go beyond the 32 bit memory limit. Anyone else have any ideas?

Also, I hope Live 9 is 64 bit ready, so that I wouldn't have to worry about this. :)


there is a live 9 64 bit but it doesn't have m4l

m4l bundling is one of the main features of l9 - there's not a huge amount of other stuff in there tbh

_________________
My Music:

https://soundcloud.com/ian_halsall/sets/mhtrtf


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group